Grown Ups weren’t meant to Sleep in a Car Bed

Image

Jpeezy taking a snooze at the grocery after a nap “fail”.

At 18 months, my very active toddler made the decision for us that it was time for a toddler bed. He climbed out of his crib and came into our room while I thought he was still in dreamland. I will never forget the shock and pride I felt in that exact moment. He was a big boy now. We went to pick out the most adorable boy themed toddler bed we could find. And put child safety locks on his door, since we could not have the little monkey roaming the halls in the middle of the night.

We got him a little blue car bed and he absolutely loved it. “Beep, beep!” was all he said at bedtime for days and days. We were so thrilled that he liked it, that the transition to a big boy bed went so flawlessly. Until the first night he could not sleep and I had to sleep in the bed with him.

I hear these stories of infants that sleep through the night at three months, toddlers that don’t have what I call, “mini insomnia”. I am so jealous! Jp has never, never, never been a  good or consistent sleeper. He was up and down all night until nearly two and even now there are just nights when he can’t go to sleep. There are days when he can’t nap. Even when he has had no nap, was up early, he still just cannot sleep. I have tried everything one could think of, nearly every trick the internet has to offer. Sleep deprivation is a serious motivation to try and remedy a situation. But all have been in vain and most of the time, more stressful than they were worth. I have firm beliefs that as a family, we are just happier setting guidelines but not going overboard. After all these years, I have just realized that my son is quirky. That he doesn’t respond well to most of the techniques that child psychologists prescribe. We do follow a strict bedtime routine and then he has to be laid down and let cry for a few minutes-he is a toddler, after all, and prone to trying to guilt and manipulate me-and that weird little scenario works 95% of the time but if he sounds truly despondent we always call him, let him come down and see us for ten or fifteen minutes and then go lay him down again. Though most of the time when he is in the throes of his mini insomnia, he just lays there quietly but you can hear him squirming around and kicking the bed, talking to his “lovey” in some language I have yet to crack the code to. Sometimes my little guy, no matter what the technique or trick, simply cannot sleep.

Mostly, I just let him sleep when he can, if he can, and on the nights when he can’t seem to slumber organically, I sleep with him. Oh, and how I hate that little car bed we picked out with so much love and care! Beds of nails would be more comfortable! A bed of shattered glass would be better.  I wake up like I just slept on a park bench. Worst. Bed. Ever. The irony is, I thought that perhaps the bed was too uncomfortable and that was why he trouble sleeping (as though he has an over 30 back, too) and he flat out refuses to sleep in any other bed. Car bed? Success. Being able to sleep? Not so much. Poor little guy…and poor mommy’s back!

Image

This is how my angel sleeps…totally covered from head to toe. 🙂

Childhood Development Parenting

Amber Perea View All →

I'm just living minute to minute, hour to hour, day to day.

2 Comments Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

