Super Nanny never said there’d be nights like this, there’d be nights like this, super nanny said…

Image

I love to watch Super Nanny, the British version and the American one. I love that she takes these seemingly irreparably obnoxious and terrorizing children and magically transforms them into respectful and well mannered kiddos. Well, perhaps it is not so much magic as it is discipline and consistency. The show always shows that, even in the most willful of children, that the calmly but firmly return to bed works every time. Ok, Super Nanny, here we go.

I always say it is so difficult to get Jp into a good schedule. It is blood, sweat, and (momma) tears to make that transistion a flawless, well oiled machine that ends in night-night kisses and asking for his “lovey” and not tears, tantrums, and screaming.

And all it takes is one lousy toddler cold to destroy that schedule for the next two months.

I value Jp’s bedtime immensely. While I love my little snuggle bug with all of my might, I also love my husband. I learned very early on in parenting that it is equally important-if not more so-to nourish your marriage and relish in your alone time. There is also the fact that if I don’t reign in the nighttime drama soon (his cold ended two weeks ago, it’s time to get back to the schedule), this momma is going to end up in the loony bin. Pronto. He has never been the best sleeper but even when he just can’t sleep he is quiet and lays down in his bed and watches a movie until he can fall asleep. His new “thing” is to turn on the light, trash his room, and scream. So while I can be patient mommy with sleeping issues that are beyond his control, this new openly defiant and rude behavior has to be addressed. Super nanny style.

Last night I went through the bedtime routine, same as always. I laid him down and tried to give him a kiss. He turned over with a very apparent and obvious cold shoulder. Well,well, well little sassy pants. Though instead of pushing the situation I kissed my hand and placed it on his forehead. “Goodnight my love.” I turned off the light, made sure his little nightlight was on and walked out the door. I stood outside the door. Heard him moving around and went in and put him back in bed. Tears. Stood at the door, heard him get up, back in bed. Tears. This little pattern went on for 6 more times. Finally, he stopped getting out of bed. I went downstairs. Chris lovingly reminded me that he saw a Super Nanny where she had to do it 19 times.

Tears.

Upstairs.

Tears.

Downstairs.

Tears.

Upstairs.

Tears.

Downstairs.

We started counting. 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15….

Tears.

Upstairs.

Tears.

Downstairs.

Tears.

Upstairs, light off, back to bed.

Tears.

18, 19. 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25…

Crying, “Help me, need help!”

27, 28, 29, 30, 31..

At this point it is MY bedtime. And my legs are sore from going up and down the stairs (maybe I should thank him for the workout, better than a stair climber any day). I was firm, consistent, and I think tonight he just bested me. I know you are never supposed to let your children “win” but in that moment I had just had enough. Super Nanny’s got nothing on Jp. Or maybe I just don’t. So I laid down with him for a few minutes and he fell right asleep. I get up and go to my room knowing that all 31 times I put him back in bed were in vain because I gave up and laid down with him.

Though sometimes being a quitter means I don’t go crazy. Mommy’s no good to anyone frustrated and yelling. Tonight, we start again. Wish me luck-and maybe a little magic. 😉

Childhood Development Parenting Parenting and Childhood Development

Amber Perea View All →

I'm just living minute to minute, hour to hour, day to day.

Leave a Reply

