I’m teaching you MY language! Why won’t you teach me YOURS?!

Image

Jargon– vocalizations of young children that consist of several strings of consonants and vowels and may sound like speech, even though they are not true words. Real words may be mixed in with a child’s jargon. This is a developmental stage.

Jp is a big fan of jargon. By this I mean, a BIG fan. While his expressive language has grown by leaps and bounds in the last 6 months, he is still the most comfortable with jargon conversationally. Single words, whole phrases, and the labeling of things he can do tirelessly all day long-whoopie!-but sentence structure and stringing together nouns with verbs (let’s not even get into appropriate adjectives) can be very tricky and frustrating for him. Though if you listen to the jargon closely, it has many of the same words and phrases which he uses in the same context each time (i.e.- “koo-ee-o” means awesome or better than good and there are many, many more words that are used consistently and in context). The jargon doesn’t appear to be random at all. As someone that is a large fan of learning new languages (yes, I am fully aware that the irony is stifling here) it seems to be his own language.

Okay, okay. I know anyone reading this is thinking that I sound just like one of those crazy parents that claim that their child is really a genius because he did something seemingly insignificant. I’m not saying he is a genius. I’m not saying I see the baby Jesus in the grilled cheese here…but hear me out. If one was lacking in the communication department but had the mental faculties to understand that things must have a name to be identified-even in ones own mind-wouldn’t you just make a name up?

I think my son has created his own little language.

I spoke with the Pathologist about it yesterday. Since we already had all of our cards on the table I thought it was a good time to broach the subject of the babbling. There is a TON of it at home. In therapy, not so much, and I have mentioned before I am unfamiliar with what would be considered “typical” development for specific ages. Also, every time I put myself through checking the standard developmental charts for Jp’s age it makes me want to cry. Literally. So now I just avoid it altogether and ask Dana instead. She told me with his receptive delay issue that it wasn’t that uncommon. Take that stupid development smarty-pants charts. I went on to explain that I could understand parts of the jargon, contextually, and it was reminiscent of a person speaking a foreign language in your presence for an extended period of time. After a while, you start to pick things up and notice the patterns of speech. She seemed slightly surprised, though I am sure my constant over-analyzations do not shock her too much at this point, and also had a relatively interesting theory. That maybe in the interim of using his own language and learning mine as well that he can teach me his! Our first course of action in single step commands is “Show me”. So when we learn it and he can ‘show me’ things I can then ask him when he babbles to show me what he means. We can learn from each other. I am beyond excited. It is my first way into his world and not just forcing him to acclimate to mine.

I just love the idea of my son teaching me a language. It seems only fitting.

Also, it is a good way to teach him to answer and respond to questions. So, bonus points for creativity in creating fun games out of what can become very dry and monotonous. Teaching language and comprehension requires that you talk-out loud-constantly. Hearing yourself talk ALL DAY LONG is only fun if you are a pathological narcissist. Which I am not. Because if I was I wouldn’t be focused so much on Jp’s language skills as much as my hairstyle or clothing. And you can ask my hairdresser…every time I see that woman it has been so long since my last haircut she asks me if we have taken on “sister wives”! 😉

Childhood Development Parenting Parenting and Childhood Development

Amber Perea View All →

I'm just living minute to minute, hour to hour, day to day.

2 Comments Leave a comment

  1. I remember when my son said his first word. It wasn’t a real word. He made it up. He continued to talk with his own words and we just went along with it. When he got close to 5 he started using the real words on his own. Its so much fun when u can communicate with your child! Fyi -people might look at you like your crazy talking in his language lol

    • I am used to it :). When we were solely focusing on expressive language I would wander through places with him talking constantly…labeling things, asking him to name things, ect. What’s so funny is that he is SO big for his age that it looks as though I am crazy already! I frequently get the ‘why is that woman babbling in a baby voice to the big ol kid’ look. 🙂

      Parent your own kids, people, I know what I’m doing Lol!

Leave a Reply

