“We can’t help everyone, but everyone can help someone.” -Ronald Regan

Image

I was nominated for the ‘Very Inspiring Blogger’ award! I feel so blessed! I like to think that while I may not be the most eloquent writer or vigilant editor at times (sometimes I think I am the only one on this site that isn’t aspiring to write anything but this blog and an occasional grocery list) but maybe one day there will be someone that is in my current shoes and this blog will help them in their journey. Pretty self important, huh?

Now for the big shout out…Thank you, thank you, thank you to cookie1986 at Ihaveanopinionthatidliketoshare for nominating me. Cookie is an inspiring blogger for me because she is just so real and tangible. She doesn’t come across as anything other than honest and forthcoming and I aspire to be just that! If you haven’t had a chance to check out her blog, you must. She is funny, honest, and refreshing…get your sense of humor ready and pop on over. πŸ™‚

The rules are simple, as with all of the blogger awards, and have a strict ‘pay it forward’ format. It’s what makes this community of WordPress is so wonderful…the fact that we have the ability to acknowledge each other for the time and energy that goes into writing these wonderful pieces that make us think, make us laugh, and just make it worth keep on keepin’ on day after day.

The Rules (Dun dun duuuuuun):

1. Display the award logo on your blog.

2. Link back to the person who nominated you.

3. State 7 things about yourself.

4. Nominate 15 bloggers for this award.

5. Notify those bloggers of the nomination by linking to one of their specific posts so that they get notified by ping back.

7 Facts about myself that may or may not be relevant to anything…

1) There is nothing in my life that I have taken so much pride in or has caused me so much stress as being a mom. They say that the best things are never easy. I think this is profoundly true for parenting. There are moments when it is the easiest thing in the world and I mourn the fact that I can’t have another. Then there are days when I wonder why I signed on for this just for a moment…then Jp smiles at me or hugs me and I remember that there is nothing I would rather be than his mom. It is the most amazing blessing and I couldn’t love him or my place in his life more.

2) I am still addicted to the 80’s. The music and the movies, that is, not the clothing or hairstyles. Atrocious. When I am not listening to reggae my Pandora is firmly set to “Journey Radio”. There is nothing I love more than some Hall and Oates or Thompson Twins.

3) Once upon a time I was a ballet dancer. For 8 years en pointe. I was never the best in my class or had the leads or solos so eventually I had to give that dream up. Only the best of the best actually make it into a Company and it was ruining my body in the meantime.

4) I never judge other people’s parenting. I do what works. I don’t care what the books or other people say I should or shouldn’t be doing. So I am the last person to stand there and judge others choices. Besides, there is nothing I find more annoying than a judgmental mom. Call me when your kids are grown and then lay some knowledge on me. Until you have living proof -literally- that your way is better than mine, I don’t want to hear it.

5) While I seem as a person to grow and mature…my taste in clothes never does. I still shop in the junior’s sections. I look at the clothes for women my age and all I can think is, “old lady”. I don’t know why at all…it’s just me, I guess. All quirky in my hoodies, low rise jeans, and Chuck Taylors at 30. That’s how I roll.

6) I love tattoos. I think they are art that we carry with us. I have a few (5) and I feel as though they tell the story of my life. I regret none and only get them when I have wanted the design for at least a year. I would have so many more but I still feel that every one that I get has to be able to be hidden if necessary. I know that society and the professional world can look down on them and while I am far from that world now, I never want to look at a piece with regret. So I only get the ones that genuinely touch my soul and in places that can be covered if it is required later on down the road.

7) I am obsessed with Bob Marley and all things reggae. It is the air that I breathe and the center that calms me. There is nothing that goes on in my life that a little reggae and dancing with my son can’t fix. I actually got into it from my mom so I have literally been a fan for as long as I can remember. When it is on, I am taken back to that time when I was young and my mom was my hero. It represents the innocence of youth and all things that are good and pure to me. I have so much merchandise of Bob Marley (clothing, home decor, ect) that the royalties probably could have bought the family a car at this point.

The blogs that I am nominating (in no particular order, of course):

1) Of Moms and Monsters– Desiree is a mom of two boys in the Spectrum. She inspires me because she does it with humor and honesty while still staying positive and unique. She makes it seem so easy but keeps it real, I love her.

2) South Forty Rocks– Amanda is an uber positive blogger that trains horses and teaches riding. She always has a kind word of encouragement or advice to lend. A fellow mom and a great read, I promise.

3) Did I Earn a Smile?– This is a blog about a woman with two sons, one with Autism. She is so candid and real and does all that she does because of her faith. She is certainly an inspiration.

4) Conception’s Bitch– This is an anonymous blog written by a woman trying to conceive. While I have a child now, I was told that I couldn’t when I was younger. I empathize with the struggles that she faces and the honest way that she broaches it.

5) Words of His Heart– Allyson is a mom of 9 children, a Home School parent, and has a son that has Downs Syndrome and struggles with communication. She tirelessly searches for new and inventive ways to teach her son visually. She is one of my biggest inspirations on Word Press!

6) Good2begone– This is a blog about someone that is finding the humor and inspiration in Recovery. Even if you can’t identify with addiction, this man is an absolute BORN story teller. It is as though you are sitting down for coffee with a friend in every post. He puts you there. It’s amazing.

7) Faking Picture Perfect– I can’t say enough good things about this blog. She’s a mom that is so real. She shares the highs and the lows. She tells it like it is and just seems so approachable and honest. Her blog posts are always so well thought out and well written. I adore her.

8) Parenting is Funny– This blog is a collection of personal stories and stories from other parents. Always, always, always a good read. Nothing inspires me like humor. Without it we would all go mad.

9) An Autism Diary– A mom with a tremendous amount of spirit that is raising a son with Autism. She is the definition of inspirational and always shares wonderful stories that make me smile.

10) Black. Bunched. Mass. Mom.– This is a great blog with so much content to it! She views the world with such intelligence and humor. I want to grow up to be just like her. πŸ˜‰

11) Rantings of a Canadian Girl– She is funny and relevant. A fellow mom with a head on her shoulders that keeps it simple and easy.

12) High Functioning Momism– This is another mom of Autism. She is positive and inspirational in her ability to keep it simple and authentic. Truly wonderful blogger!

13) Momaiku– Haiku’s mom style. Short, simple, and beyond hilarious! Every. Single. Time.

Okay, I can’t do 15. I know I cry, “New to blogging!”, every time I can’t come up with the required number of nominees for my awards but I am! I’m new! I just don’t know everyone personally yet and I want to to pay it forward to the ones that I know and love.

Thank you, again, Ihaveanopinionidliketoshare! I wish I could nominate you back! And for all of the blogs that I have nominated, thank you for inspiring me to be a better writer, to parent better, and for just being there in all of extreme highs and lows that come with being a mom! I love y’all!

Uncategorized

Amber Perea View All →

I'm just living minute to minute, hour to hour, day to day.

27 Comments Leave a comment

  1. Congratulations on your award πŸ™‚ and I truly thank you for including me in those you passed it on to. Your words are very kind and incredibly touching to read. I am both humbled and honored at the same time. Thank-you : )

  2. Thank you so much, really. I’m so super grateful!! I’m also grateful to be counted among the other great blogs listed here! So looking forward to reading everyone else’s good work!! You are amazing, Amber! Thank you!!!

Leave a Reply

