I hope they have Zoloft and Thorazine in the Hundred Acre Woods…

Image

Yesterday, Jp wasn’t feeling well (further posts on this topic but we are still currently in the throes) and so we snuggled up with pajamas, tissues, chap stick, and juice in the living room and I told Jp he could watch whatever he liked since he was sick. I have to most wonderful memories of my mother spending time with me when I was ill and I want Jp to feel that same sense of comfort, especially when he doesn’t truly understand what ‘sick’ means yet.

That being said, after already seeing Cars somewhere in the range of 900 or so times before yesterday, when he said, “Again!” after the second time (in a freakin’ row) I had to take a step back and say ‘no’ for the sake of my own personal sanity. I love you, buddy, but I am going to snap if I hear ‘Life is a Highway‘ one more time.

I began browsing through the On Demand, hoping to come across something a little more mellow that might help make him a bit sleepy, I found one of my absolute favorite things from my own childhood, Winnie the Pooh. I was obsessed with Pooh when I was young. I had every stuffed animal, every movie, and I think, even, a dress or two.

I turned it on. Jp didn’t seem overly interested at first but as soon as I started singing the theme song for him (yep, 25 years later and I still knew the song word for word) he settled in to give it a try. Though I have to admit, I was entirely more excited than he was.

Though 25 years and a degree in Psychology has thrown my Winnie the Pooh viewing experience for quite a loop.

As I am sitting there, I realize that the entire cast suffers from Psychological problems and atypical neurological conditions. I know you think I am crazy (and you may very likely be correct) but first let me break it down for you and see if I am not at least a little on the money.

  • Christopher Robbins- Early onset childhood schizophrenia. He has created a world in which, he can verbally communicate with his stuffed animals. This goes further than the typical land of childhood make-believe. Even when he isn’t physically there, the animals continue to converse with each other. Thus, his ability to differentiate fact from fiction is skewed so dramatically that it must be a disorder.
  • Winnie the Pooh- The loveable, huggable main character. He suffers from Hunny addiction. Think about it. Most all of his misadventures stem from him attempting to collect and obtain hunny. In fact, in the show I watched yesterday, he home was littered with empty hunny pots and he took off begging from all of his friends for hunny. His “tummy” kept leading him and physically telling him to get more. Sounds like a code for addiction to me.
  • Tigger- Obviously, Tigger has Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder. Tigger’s bounce. Tigger can’t pay attention. Tigger needs Ritalin, stat.
  • Piglet- Oh, Piglet. Poor little shivering, pink piglet. Piglet has phobias of everything. His anxiety levels are through the roof and obviously he has suffered some type of intense trauma to be afflicted with GAD -or Generalized Anxiety Disorder- to the point that every noise or shadow sends him running for cover to hide.
  • Rabbit- Rabbit spends his days tending to his immaculate garden or cleaning his nearly spotless home. He becomes intensely agitated or frustrated with anyone that touches his belongings. Classic Obsessive Compulsive Disorder.
  • Owl- I grew up thinking that Owl was the smart one. But really, all of the signs around his home are misspelled and he is actually wrong -a lot. Therefore, his presentation of himself as an intellectual is an illusion. A delusion of grandeur coupled with a warped sense of self image. Also known as…Narcissistic Personality Disorder.
  • Eeyore- Well, this one is just too easy. Eeyore obviously is plagued with massive amounts of a chemical imbalance known as Manic Depression. No matter what happens to that Donkey (is he a donkey? I’m not certain…) he is always miserable. Nothing makes him happy. Ever. Someone pass him the Wellbutrin, please, ’cause he’s bringing me down.

Can you see? Am I crazy? Why is everyone in the Hundred Acre Woods a hot mess? I’m sending a Teddy Psychiatrist there immediately. Until they get the help that they so desperately need, I’m only letting Jp watch less damaging cartoons. Like, say….Star Wars. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Image

Photo Credit: Pooh- pooh.wikia.com

Star Wars- pixelperfectmag.com

Parenting Psychology

Amber Perea View All →

I'm just living minute to minute, hour to hour, day to day.

9 Comments Leave a comment

  1. I think that actually is the beauty of Winnie-the-Pooh: it represents all of our disorder, all our mashed up, mixed up selves, all of our fears and excesses. Their frailties mirror our innermost souls.

    But I disagree about Eeyore. He does not cycle. He is only ever depressed.

    • I agree! I love the beautifully imperfect characters are an adjacent look into the human condition. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Though with Eeyore…there are cases (though rarer in nature) of manics that do not cycle. He is a severe case though he does have moments of levity. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  2. I think you are absolutely on target. That’s why I was slightly offended when a friend of mine called me Eeyore. It probably says a lot about me that he was my favorite character when I was little.

Leave a Reply

