Redefining Insanity (as seen through the eyes of a Mom in the trenches of an illness).

Image

Once you can get him in…calm and happy.

There is an old adage that the definition of insanity is…

“Doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results.”

Thanks, Albert Einstein, though I bet that -time period wise- while you had children of your own, that your wife was the primary caregiver. I’m sure you were too busy off developing the Theory of Relativity. I’m just saying, because in that statement, I don’t see insanity…I see hopefulness. Maybe you keep doing the same thing and hoping for a better end. That doesn’t mean you are insane. It means you have faith.

I have learned this week that insanity is in parenting. Particularly a child that is ill (and it certainly doesn’t help if it is one with a developmental delay of any sort). I have looked true insanity in the face all week long and no longer agree that the simplistic musings of Mr. Einstein are even remotely correct.

My new and improved definitions:

Insanity is…

  • Trying to feed a hungry child with food aversions when his teeth hurt. Have you ever seen a child turn down chocolate ice cream for breakfast? I thought not.
  • Having to pin down and force someone to take a medication that will only make them feel better.
  • Watching a child whose mouth feels like sweet fire weep through an entire peanut butter sandwich with yogurt and soup on the table next to it.
  • Making 9 different meals specifically asked for (or more accurately, pointed to) all that eventually hit the trash.
  • Living in a dirty, germ filled house because every attempt you make to clean it is met with tears and pleadings for attention.
  • Sleeping in a toddler bed that is half your size with a tiny furnace of a child snuggling up to you (it sounds much sweeter than it actually is).
  • Dressing a sick child. They hate it, they’re cold, and in 14 seconds they are going to dump something all over it because a sick child has even less coordination than a healthy one (as if you ever thought that was possible).
  • Watching the same 3 Disney cartoons that you have already seen 400 times on repeat for AN ENTIRE WEEK. (tick, tick)
  • Chasing a toddler around with a cup of water/milk trying to convince them that if they don’t drink it they have to go to that place that they hate and have a needle in their arm that will scare them. Toddler runs away. Wash, rinse, repeat.
  • Watching someone that you love cry for hours upon hours and they won’t let you do anything to help.
  • Loving someone with every fiber of your being even though in the last week they have hit, kicked, scratch, and bit you. On numerous occasions. Over and over.

So you see, the crazy isn’t in the bright and hopeful, but truly in the act of loving a child. That’s bonkers. If there was anyone else that ever perpetuated such madness on you (from babyhood to teen-dom), you would promptly write them out of your life as a “toxic” person unworthy of your time and friendship.

Though with our babies, we get up and rally, even in the most difficult and adverse conditions. Which brings me to my conclusion…

That unconditional love truly is insanity. And, quite frankly, the best kind that there is. ๐Ÿ™‚

Childhood Development Musings Parenting Parenting and Childhood Development

Amber Perea View All →

I'm just living minute to minute, hour to hour, day to day.

8 Comments Leave a comment

  1. hang in there! Days like the ones you’ve described (that we have also experienced in our house with our toddler) are the ones that really make me appreciate my parents even more. We never realize how much they did for us until we’re doing it for someone else. Hope things ease up for you soon.

    • Oh my goodness! I have had the same EXACT thought so many times this week. Being a parent truly makes you appreciate your own, doesn’t it?

      Thank you for the kind words and it’s nice to “meet” you! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Nah, not crazy! I wish I could have more, I really do. It must be such a magical thing to watch them all play together…well, when they aren’t fighting. ๐Ÿ˜‰

      And thank you, that means so much!

  2. Oh my gosh! I love this post! I can totally relate to (and fondly remember) each of your points.

    Hmmm… Not only do I have three kids now, but two of them are teens. Just when I got my two teens to be semi-self-sufficient, and I had just turned 36, we decided to start all over again. That was over 2 years ago. Some might call that crazy, but I wouldn’t have it any other way. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Yes nothing like a sick toddler to make you go LOCO! Its so hard and it strips you right down to the core. Keep up the good job. Unconditional love knows no bounds. X

Leave a Reply

