Looks like somebody’s got a case of the Mondays…uh, Wednesdays…

Ugh.

That was the first thought that permeated my sleep addled brain this morning as I prompty pressed “Snooze” on the alarm clock. It is a Speech day, so I set my alarm nice and early to give myself plenty of time to wake up and be ready to go. I assumed it was just the first time that I had woke up in the time change by an alarm so my body must just not be used to it yet (afterall, the clock says 7 but my body says 6). Ten minutes later…snooze’d it again. 3 more times. I never hit snooze so this wasn’t an optimum beginning to my day.

Wake up, roll out of bed, and head downstairs for some much needed caffeine. The house looks like a bomb went off in that was filled with toys and trash. We had a cousin sleepover last night and my place reflects the three children that played there. My kitchen is full of dishes, there is an air mattress on the floor, and then there is the sheer amount of toys strewn from one end to the other. Oh, jeez. I really hate mess so this was an awful sight to wake to and I am kicking myself for leaving it like that last night.

Side note: how do people with three children clean? I couldn’t find 5 minutes to wipe my nose last night.

Get all the kids ready to leave and pile Jp into the truck for speech. Still have a serious case of the blahs. 30 minutes there and when we get to the door, it’s locked. What the heck? I know we were out for a while with his illness but why would the door be locked? Oh, it’s spring break and they close for it…which I would have known if I hadn’t been out for two weeks.

Thanks for the call, guys.

Now Jp is madder than a wet hen. He stood steadfastly at the door with his trucks and planes in the “I am about to scream” stance. I couldn’t blame him…he woke up, got dressed, brought his toys, and now I won’t let him go in and play with Miss Dana. I’m being mean. I tried to explain as best that I could but in the end it was tears and dragging him to the truck kicking and screaming.

Thanks for the call, guys.

So I took him to the grocery store, which is what we typically do after speech, with the promise of a brand new ball for all of his troubles. He seemed relatively placated when I pulled down a shiny red one that he didn’t already have at home. For some reason even though my head is pounding and I’m still tired and grumpy, I chose to make lasagna anyway. Really, me? It’s hours of labor. What was I thinking?

By the time we got home I was still feeling blah and thought a cup of coffee might help. Nope.

Another?

Nope. Now my hands are just shaky and I still have to clean up this fiasco I call home.

Even with Jp napping (and therefore not making me clean the same areas 3 and 4 times) I barely got the bare minimum done before I was drained. Then I stood in the kitchen staring at the lasagna ingredients and I mentally kicked myself again. Then I wandered into the music room to blog.

What is going on with me today? I feel physically fine but mentally…drained. I’m not sad, I’m not happy, I’m not anything. I just am. I hope I shake it soon because tomorrow we are going to SXSW (what kind of Austinite would I be if I didn’t go at least one day?) and I haven’t been out in eons and I don’t want to be sitting there the whole time like a lame duck. ๐Ÿ™‚

On a brighter note, here are some cutie pictures of the sleepover. Or, at least, the ones that weren’t blurry since two of them weren’t still for more than 2 minutes at a stretch. Three kids is a ton of work but oh-so-much fun.

Hey, maybe that’s why I am so tired…..

Image

A letter for my little guy from his cousin. (Jameson ;))

Image

Such a little ham!

Image

What is this doll thing and why doesn’t it karate kick like my stuff?

Image

Playing keyboard and dress-up simultaneously…ah, what game is this?

Image

Tapping into her inner diva!

Image

I forgot how EASY babies are! Feed and snuggle, feed and snuggle…

Image

Still my favorite guy!

Image

It’s crazy how much she looks like Jp at that age.

Image

Ball of energy…the whole time. ๐Ÿ™‚

Image

Pretty girl gives me crazy “baby fever”.

Image

Finally settled in to watch Wreck It Ralph. Ah, sweet relaxation!

Childhood Development Parenting Parenting and Childhood Development

Amber Perea View All →

I'm just living minute to minute, hour to hour, day to day.

10 Comments Leave a comment

      • Oh, never mind then…I despise mushrooms and I don’t know that there’s any place in a lasagna for sundried tomatoes! Lol. I’m not saying I’m picky, but I’m from the Hill in STL, so I like my Italian food a certain way.

  1. Three has put me over the edge. My house is never, ever, EVER clean anymore. Some parts are, but all at the same time? Never.
    Sorry you’re having an off day. I HATE those. I never hit snooze either. It’s against my core beliefs. Yet, oddly enough, not against my husband’s. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • Yeah, three is crazy pants mess making status. Wow, my hat is off to you for doing it every day.

      Snooze is for the birds. It only makes me feel more tired and aggravated when I get up. I knew better!

      Off days are the worst! I hate when I have to give myself a pep talk to accomplish even the most mundane tasks. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. I had speech day too, but it was at my house, so I HAD to clean before 8 am…should be unlawful! Then I got the text for my Wednesday and got to meet new “boyfriend”. Serious cause of Yuck Wednesday. I’m with you…caffeine, Hershey’s, nor Sonic pit stop made this day be any shorter.

Leave a Reply

