A better solution than, “Kid, if you don’t drink the water, you are going to die!”?

Image

I like to think that I have some pretty good qualities. I am bright and quite capable with very little instruction required to learn new or foreign subject matter. What I am not, however, is -at all– creative in any fashion. I first learned this particular personal fact in High School when I took my very first Creative Writing class against my will and better judgement. You see, in Florida where I attended High School, you have to take a standardized writing test in 8th grade and again in 10th. I scored “perfect 6’s” on both. I was the only one in my school district to accomplish that feat and came home with a massive plaque stating that I was awesome (or some other phrasing of that nature). That is when the pressure began from my mom and administrators alike to be a part of the Future Authors Association at my school. For me, the science geek in the debate club, it sounded way out of my comfort zone but something that might sound good on college applications so I acquiesced. I didn’t understand how I had received the scores in the first place and the method of grading was very shady (in my opinion), not to mention there was the fact that I couldn’t spell to save my life but that’s what the ‘new invention’ of Spell Check was for, right? Besides, it got everyone off of my back, so I grudgingly signed up.

Um…what an epic failure. I couldn’t come up with anything to say. If you give me a topic, I can come up with something but the “creative” part of the whole process eluded me. I could not write a fiction piece with a gun to my head and a knife to my throat and eventually the teacher allowed me to go back to the Chem Lab where I belonged. Ever since then, I have always known that being inventive wasn’t necessarily in my bag of tricks but it was never so amplified until I became a parent.

Parents are supposed to be creative. It’s true. If you disagree, you are probably just creative and don’t realize it. If I can’t read about it or research it, it doesn’t exist for me. Thank the good lord that my husband has the most creative spirit imaginable or my son would be in the hospital right now most likely.

So, I thought it should be passed along for all of my fellow non-creative types that are raising little ones. We have to ban together, you know.

Ever since Jp had that terrible viral infection, he hasn’t been eating or drinking as much. Which wouldn’t be such a terrible thing if he wasn’t already so food and drink resistant in the first place. It’s as though since it was painful to chew and swallow in those weeks, now he is traumatized in some way and won’t eat or drink unless the need is dire. It’s incredibly stressful. We have a few months until a well check so I am hoping we can pack back on the weight he has lost before I get the disapproving glare from my pediatrician but liquids -or lack thereof- can cause dehydration and that’s more than a little frightening. This morning when I woke him up to change his diaper (he’s taking to potty training like a fish to grits. Fish don’t live in grits, you say? Yep, that’s how well it is going) and his pee was darker than his darkest has been and I panicked.

Five minutes later, I am on the phone with the nurse at the Pediatricians office and she calmed me down (a little) and said since he was still going number one and crying actual tears he wasn’t in critical condition and most likely held it most of the evening since now is the age when they start using bladder control overnight and that is why the diaper was so dark. But I had to change up what I was doing now as he was probably mildly dehydrated to begin with to be that color at all.

Great, what I was doing was all I could think of. Which was chasing him around with a cup (that I just bought and let him pick out all by himself since I thought that would help) and begging him to drink. That’s all I’ve got. He hates Popsicles, Pedialyte, Gatorade, Powerade, fruits and every other variation in between. My only other thought was yelling, “Kid if you don’t drink the water, you are going to die!”, but not only was that harsh and wildly unnecessary, he wouldn’t have understood me anyways.

So I call my husband, all in a panic, and he -in all of his blessed creative glory- says, “Why don’t you try a squirt gun?”

Excuse me? Because that is just a….brilliant idea! So off to the store I went for a squirt gun. At this point, Jp has more water in him than in the last 3 days combined. He’s just wandering around and spraying it into his mouth and laughing. It was so simple but so effective. Put the water in a toy and viola! No more dehydration. Or at least, I hope so. But it has to be better than it was.

Thank goodness for all of you creative types since without you, we’d all be thirsty.

Photo Credit: www.4imprint.com

Uncategorized

Amber Perea View All →

I'm just living minute to minute, hour to hour, day to day.

17 Comments Leave a comment

  1. Yeah, sometimes my wife will say or suggest something and I’m all good god, how did I not think of that? I like to believe that I’m one of those brilliant people with no common sense for such matters, but in reality, I’m just semi-brain dead, especially in the creative department.

  2. Just for fun, I may have to write a satirical piece linking to this post where I’m appalled that you’d encourage your child to put in gun in his mouth and pull the trigger! bwahahahahahah! And you live in Texas!! It’s half written already!

  3. It would actually be funny, but there are too many people who are missing the chromosome that allows them to recognize sarcasm and they’d get themselves all worked up about me bashing a hard working mother of a special little guy!!! How dare I!!!!

    Or a good title would have been “Dad does more in a 3 minute phone call than mom didin 3 days!” Lol πŸ˜‰

    • In all fairness it was less than one minute phone call and it’s been a week. He really is a far superior parent in some respects. πŸ™‚

      As for the sarcasm factor…you’re right. Taking a joke is one of those things that just can’t be taught. I would’ve laughed my rear off! πŸ˜‰

  4. Thank God for those logical, creative husbands of ours. I just love it when I freak out about something and hubby thinks for 2 seconds and then says, why don’t you just . . . (Fill in the blanks.). He can solve a humongous issue in 2 seconds flat. I think sometimes us moms have to get out of the box in order to fix what’s in the box. Hence my excuse for Saturday Solitude. Dad comes and goes from the box, so he has a good view of the obvious. like I said, Thank God.

  5. Oh my gosh. You sound just like me. I tried Creative Writing and sucked at it. I absolutely hate writing, yet I’ve always done well at it. (Ha! And here I am writing a blog, too!)

    I am also a Chem nerd. Took a bunch of O-Chem and BioChem in college… for fun. I didn’t know what I wanted to do with myself at the time, so I tried a nursing program. After the first month, I ditched the program and got my old Chem instructor to sign off for me to start one of her courses late. She just shook her head and said to me, “What were you thinking?”

    Yup, sometimes the simplest solutions elude me, too. πŸ™‚

    (Hey, I went to high school in Fla, too!)

    • Where in Florida? I was in Vero Beach. I’m a Texas girl but my parents moved me there right before high school. Did you take the Florida Writes? I think we were the first years (99 grad) but I never did understand how it was graded… lol.

      Yay! Chem nerds unite!

      Also, as for the blog thing…I started a few but would become uninspired or run out of ideas quickly. Now with my son, there is never a loss for inspiration when it comes to that! πŸ™‚

      • Two years in Orlando, then two years in Clearwater. We moved around a lot when I was growing up. Oh wow, I graduated in 93! I don’t remember those tests, but then my memory sucks.

        Yep, kids give us lots to write about, and I think I’ve put enough categories to keep me and my friend busy for a few months, at least. lol We both have ADD, so follow-through is a problem for both of us.

        Love your blog! I’m new to the blogging world, and it’s nice to see other moms out there like me! A little weird, a little nerdy, and that just don’t quite fit into the judgemental mom circles. πŸ™‚

      • Aw, thank you! I have ADHD, too! This blog is the only project or idea I have followed through on in a million years. I don’t know why I seem to be able to sit down and do it every day without fail, but I do. Even my husband was surprised. πŸ™‚

        I’m pretty new, too, and it’s so nice to meet my fellow moms like me! Thank you for reading, it means so much. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

