Here I am, (happily) stuck in the middle with you…

When I tentatively began this blogging adventure, I felt truly alone in some of my insecurities as a parent. I thought I was the only one that gave birth to not only a beautiful baby but also, the mother of all guilt complexes. I thought I was the only one that sat up at night worrying about the type of parent that I was and beating myself up to do better. Spend more time, try harder, be better.

I thought I was alone in my thinking that no matter what I did, it just never felt good enough.

Along my journey here, I have met more than a few of my fellow Moms that live in my world. Parenting with uncertainty is more the “norm” than I ever believed was possible…and while it is terrible that we have to live with these levels of self doubt for the next 18 years (give or take), at least we always have each other! Well, and our husbands and wives but what kind of “Super Parents” would we really be if we spent all of our time complaining to our spouses? No, we suck it up and Mommy on. It’s what separates the great parents from the good; the weak from the strong.

Our instincts and our ability to pick ourselves up no matter how rough the waters become is what makes us better parents than we give ourselves credit for.

I heard this song (The Middle by Jimmy Eat World) last night on the radio while deep inside my head, wrestling with a decision I have to make about Jp and schooling for later (more to follow), and though I remember it from years ago, it was a little “pop-y” for my taste and never gave it much thought (or any at all, really). So last evening, as I sat and really listened to the words, I couldn’t help but smile and think of myself as well as all of you who are out there floundering with me through this epic battle of wills called parenting. I am sure that if you read the lyrics, you will see where I am coming from and see why, from now on, when I am feeling down or stressing and worrying about what I am or am not doing right, what people think of me, if I am good enough…and all of the other self doubting emotions that keep me from my happiness, that this song will be blaring from the speakers to remind me that everything, everything will be just fine, alright!

Jimmy Eat World – The Middle

Hey, don’t write yourself off yet
It’s only in your head you feel left out or looked down on
Just try your best
Try everything you can
And don’t you worry what they tell themselves when you’re away

It just takes some time
Little girl, you’re in the middle of the ride
Everything, everything will be just fine
Everything, everything will be all right, all right

Hey, you know they’re all the same
You know you’re doing better on your own (On your own)
So don’t buy in
Live right now
Yeah, just be yourself
It doesn’t matter if it’s good enough (Good enough)
For someone else

It just takes some time
Little girl, you’re in the middle of the ride
Everything, everything will be just fine, alright!

Musings Parenting and Childhood Development

Amber Perea View All →

I'm just living minute to minute, hour to hour, day to day.

5 Comments Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

