I’ve made the decision to take the summer off from disorders….

The verdict came down that Jp is not going to qualify for speech therapy at this time. Instead of looking at it as a negative…I’m going to embrace it. Hey, how bad can being too smart for speech really be, right? I’m in for (most likely) a lifelong battle to keep Jp where he needs to be educationally. So this summer…we are “unschooling“.

Never heard of it? You must live in a non-hippie part of the country.

Here is the long and the short of it:

Unschooling is a range of educational philosophies and practices surrounding the primary belief that education is a greater undertaking than schooling. Unschooling places little emphasis on traditional school curriculum and encourages children to learn through their natural life experiences including play, game play, household responsibilities, personal interests and curiosity, work experience, travel, books, elective classes, family, mentors, and social interaction. Unschooling encourages exploration of activities initiated by the children themselves, believing that the more personal learning is, the more meaningful, well-understood and therefore useful it is to the child. Differing from conventional schooling, unschooling questions the usefulness of standard curricula, conventional grading methods, and other features of traditional schooling in maximizing the education of each unique child.

It’s one step more hippie than co-op homeschooling and, in my humble opinion, pretty much child abuse if the child is school age. It’s a beautiful concept -it truly is- but not giving a child a formal education (be it at home or in a brick and mortar schoolhouse) is not allowing a child a legitimate chance at being a successful adult. I have seen many cases where the children can’t even read by middle school age. But this is not something that I plan to continue farther than the summer and the fact is…it is such an extraordinary premise that I feel as though it will have a relaxing effect on both of us.

I’ve become too wrapped up in educating and managing behaviors. I have genuinely forgotten how to enjoy my child. I went back to my usual tendencies of overlooking a person to investigate the mind within. I’ve lost track of the simple joys that come with just spending time with my son. Everything is a learning activity; every play time a possibility to analyze his socialization. We don’t just play anymore. We don’t spend enough time outside. We don’t do anything but fight (in a way that only a mother and toddler can) lately.

Sit down.

Pay attention.

Give me the Iphone.

Take a bath.

Go to bed.

Put the shirt on.

Stop hitting the puppies.

I just woke up today and realized that I am not the Mom I want to be right now. And only I have the power to change that. Which started today.

I woke up, made an appointment and went and chopped off all of Jp’s hair. It’s indoor hair, too hot for a Texas summer in the sunshine. It had to go but I have to say that I miss it even though the new look is equally cute!

Image

Even kids in school get a summer break and Jp and I are taking ours as a great experience to learn, have fun, and become even closer! Wish me luck!

Image

Article Reference: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Unschooling

Childhood Development Parenting

Amber Perea View All →

I'm just living minute to minute, hour to hour, day to day.

28 Comments Leave a comment

  1. The hair looks good, but grrrr! My wife is always choppin’ my boys’ hair when I’m not looking too. Let it grow! Have fun with your unschooling. It sounds just like the catholic preschool we pay $3500 a year for quite honestly.

    • I would, I love that hair but yesterday I took him to the park and he sweat and was stinky and bath time is always super high drama…so I just did it. Better to cut the hair that I love rather than have him be hot and miserable!

      I’m pretty excited to just relax and let the wind blow us where it blows us. It’s a frustrating feat trying to get him to do things that he doesn’t want (therapies, structured play, ect) so I’m looking forward to just having some down time.

    • Lol, he’s big isn’t he? Nope, birthday number 3 is in July! It’s hard to tell the kid was ever a preemie!

      TBall is a bit too structured (he’s no bueno with directions or rules) but I have him enrolled in swim classes all summer and I’m hoping gymnastics, too. Not the manliest of things but more physical and a easy visual learn. I can’t wait until it starts!

    • Thank you! At first I thought that these are vital years for development but then I just remembered that I only get so many years before this magical toddler time is over so I’m jut going to let my hair down and enjoy it while I can!

  2. LOVE the new look…what a little cutie! And I think your plan is aces, you’ve got tons of time to do the “business” of parenting…taking time to just have some fun and enjoy him is brilliant. Best momma ever!

  3. I love the hair too!! I know your routine all too well. I think all too often we get caught up in what has to be done so I am sooo looking forward to summer too. No schedules (except naps) stay in our pjs when we want and play!!!

    • It’s such a feeling of freedom! Normally I have to schedule heavier household things on days we don’t have therapy and days we have it I have so much going on that we never have time to go to the park or the children’s museum…

      I love summer break! 🙂

      The hair is too cute for words, right? The kid is just pretty! Lol he’ll go far with that alone! 😉

  4. “I’ve become too wrapped up in educating and managing behaviors. I have genuinely forgotten how to enjoy my child.”

    If you only knew how true this rang for me, as well. Thank you, THANK YOU for writing with so much openness and honesty. This post has inspired me to look at how I’m interacting with my 2 year old and re-evaluate. I too am having too many days where I don’t feel I’m the mom I want to be.

  5. I absolutely LOVE this idea. As moms it’s so easy to get caught up in the tasks involved in parenting… cleaning, cooking, running a household that some of the connection seems to become missed. Last night we put BJ to bed late and just let him play. My husband and he were wrestling around and playing and I just let it be. Sometime’s it’s good to just sit back and enjoy things…

  6. Great haircut, and I have to say I totally concur on the unschooling after preschool bit. (Okay, we don’t start the formal homeschooling until first grade, but they are already reading and writing by then.) Unschooling the way most people use the term should really be replaced by the term “not schooling,” and not schooing is very illegal. Texas actually requires certain subjects to be taught in all public schools, private schools and homeschools (which legally qualifies as a private school in Texas). My understanding of unschooling is similar to yours. I try to be interest led in some subjects; when we happened to be going to the Alamo we did a unit on Texas history, when Leah started doing her own weird little experiments, I pulled out my experiment books and we did some formal ones and learned about the scientific concepts, etc. But honestly, if I unschooled and just let my kids follow their own drive for learning and pursuing what interests them, they would wind up spending their days hanging in the trees like the Von Trapp kids in the Sound of Music.

    Anyway, I love your idea about taking the summer off! We’ll probably wind up doing that too, although Noah will continue his therapies. I just can’t image how I could try to teach anybody anything in the midst of moving. We all need a break anyhow. They may not come back motivated for more school in the fall, but I sure will!

    Blessings,
    Alyson

    • Yay for breaks! It would impossible to try and do work while moving! When we moved into the house it was mayhem for months trying to get everything in order!

      Congrats on the new home!

Leave a Reply

