My first blog blast (I shouldn’t be this tickled but I am)….

Image

Those who follow me know that I like to poke fun. I dig it. It’s my thing. I justify this atrocious behavior by saying I am equally capable of pointing the judgmental finger right back at myself and finding my personal faults and bringing them to light.

If I can laugh at me…I can laugh at you, okay?

I write about everything having to do with parenting. The ups, the downs, the good, the bad, and the humorous. I write soapbox pieces about social issues, satirical pieces about my fellow parents, and serious pieces about the hardships that I sometimes face. Mostly, as my blog is a personal reflection of what is going on inside my cluster mess of a mind at any given moment, it is a whole crap ton of opinions. Thoughts, feelings, and sheer babble here, folks, nothing more, nothing less.

I don’t do politics or religion -on purpose- for two reasons. One, I know for a fact that my opinions on them do not err on the side of popular opinion and I don’t want to offend anyone else’s beliefs. This is different than an opinion, which I have no problem offending, but someone’s beliefs are sacred and not something that I feel I have any business interfering with. Two, I know that once you state your beliefs then everyone that feels strongly about another side will want to share why they feel the way that they do and how it is that they came to feel that way. Guess what? I am a grown woman and I have my beliefs that are based in strong, highly searchable facts and I am not -under any circumstances- going to change my mind for any reason no matter what you say.

So why would I even bother?

That being said, I wouldn’t think (but that’s what I get, right?) that I would ever post about anything that would get anyone all hot and bothered. Bored? Maybe. Annoyed? Perhaps. But never actually angry enough to read and comment and go into great lengths discussing how I am highly incorrect in my opinion. Much less, a piece that was highly based in satire since no one, ever, has used the term “hater” in a serious piece. Or, to my knowledge before last evening, ever took a piece on Disney movies seriously, anyways.

First, let’s explore the term opinion.

o·pin·ion

/əˈpinyən/
Noun
  1. A view or judgment formed about something, not necessarily based on fact or knowledge.

So, to be perfectly clear…not only is it not required to be based on a fact, it also can be blown out of the mouth without any clear knowledge, either. Good, I’m covered then.

Back to my first blast. It was awesome. I read it, then I read it again just to be certain that I read it correctly the first time. The post that I wrote was blah, blah, blah Disney princesses are terrible role models, blah, blah, blah, I like Nemo…ect. If I’m being honest, I just wanted to rag on some cartoons. I’m just that deep.

This was a response to said post:

“single one had seen more Disney movies recently than movies with a plot.”
Disney movies DO have a plot. There is a narrative, a conflict, and then a resolution. The exception to this is Fantasia and the package films from the 40s. You may not like Cinderella or Sleeping Beauty. But they do have pretty fleshed out plots.

And that image of the Disney Princesses is ridiculous. Ariel DID NOT change her body for a man. Sure, she had a crush on Eric. But that’s not why she changed to a human. We spend the first half of the movie learning that she adores the land because of it’s amazing artifacts. She has that collection right? The only reason she went to the Sea Witch was because her father totally destroyed the collection. It wasn’t for Eric. If her father didn’t do that, she would of stayed under the sea.

The major problem with people bashing on the classic films is this: Taking them out of context. These films came out in the 30s and 50s, what do you expect for them to have? Progressive and forward thinking? Events and people have came after those films to change the way things are, so it’s a very unfair thing to do. I grew up on those films. And I don’t find myself dependent on men, or feel less fulfilled because I am a woman. I consider myself to be a feminist, and I work hard for the cause. (I know what it’s like to be paid differently for the same job as a male). I think people overreact about the older films not being feminist enough.

Whoa, whoa, whoa there! For reals? I was totally excited that I had incited emotion in someone over something as highly irrelevant as a movie spoof piece. I mean, it had a picture of Nemo touching the boat saying YOLO. Who is taking me seriously? Why would anyone do that? Also, why are we talking about cartoon characters as though we know them personally and they might as well be members of our immediate family? I wasn’t quite sure how to even begin to reply to any of it.

So I had to respond with this:

I think we may have our wires crossed here. Judging from your profile picture, I am going to assume that Disney is a passion. While I am just a sarcastic mommy blogger. I am not someone that anyone takes seriously (I’m actually pretty well known for being silly and pretty weird) and meant this as a funny satire of the movies as opposed to being a serious commentary.

I grew up watching them, I like them, and think that all of your arguments are well thought out and valid. Again, purely satire, and those who know me, know that.

I enjoy a good back and forth as much as the next person but, as I mentioned in my reply, their whole blog is dedicated to Disney movies. So, in a way, that’s like arguing religion, which I never do. All I had for it was an, “I’m sorry, my bad, didn’t know this was a taboo or touchy subject and I have learned from my mistakes”.

I thought the first time that I truly ticked someone off with my blog it would certainly NOT be about cartoons… but I’ll take it. 😉

Musings Parenting

Amber Perea View All →

I'm just living minute to minute, hour to hour, day to day.

21 Comments Leave a comment

  1. Funny how the posts you don’t think will strike a cord, actually end up doing EXACTLY that.
    Like my boss also says…opions are like arseholes…..EVERYONE has one. Keep blogging, keep moving people (yes even if its a passionatlye as Disney) Keep it real. Hugs from a fellow mommy blogger. YOU ROCK…..do I send cake?

    • Thank you, thank you! I just couldn’t stop chuckling at the fact that someone read it after having their reader set to “Disney” and was like, “Oh, THIS B#&$H!”.

      Still laughing about it! 🙂

  2. I didn’t have the heart to say what a beeeotch I thought you were for dogging on princesses or whatever, but I can hold back no more. Your anger stems from none of these princesses being Mexican, doesn’t it?

    • Well, Aladdin wasn’t Mexican but he was a dark skinned dude. But he was only a pretend prince… 😉

      But for serious…a princess post? I’m not even a feminist! I am a dishes washing, clothing laying out housewife, for goodness sakes! I just like to make fun of things! Is that so wrong? 😉

      • Making fun of things? I wouldn’t know anything about that for sure.

        As long as you can make fun of yourself as well, then who cares. Like your friend said, this was bound to happen when you least expect it. That there are people out there who love Disney enough to be able to argue about it using facts and interpreting things as though it’s poetry is dumfounding to me. It’s a freakin’ movie!

      • I went and read the blog (morbid curiosity as to the origin of such cartoon induced angst) and it’s quite good, honestly. They certainly know their stuff so I have to respect that. But, and this is a big but, if your passion is something that other people have forcibly crammed down their throats 3 times a day, 7 days a week (giggity)…prepare for some razzing.

        I wonder if they have kids? I don’t think you could be that into Disney movies if you are required to watch them all 5.6 million times. No movie is that good! 😉

    • Lol I wondered if I should write this, thinking, “what if they come back and read this and get even MORE ticked off?”.

      I purposely didn’t tag it Disney. Don’t want my hater coming back for seconds!

      But if they do…more posts tomorrow! 😉

  3. People just like to bitch. You’ve read my blog, you should know that, lol.
    And whatever about Ariel. She had one tail, and then saw Eric, and needed legs so she could spread them. Slutty, slutty Ariel.
    But you know what? I love The Little Mermaid. Can’t I just love it without having to analyze some bullshit social commentary on it?
    Yeesh.
    And I will now go back to my shitty OPINION blog and wait for the Disney onslaught over my slutty Ariel comment. Which was a joke, by the way. 😉

    • My first thought when I read it was, “This is weird..” And then I saw the profile pic. Then I popped over to the blog and saw it was all about Disney.

      No fair here! I write one commentary on some Disney movies and you are jumping down my throat and you dedicate an entire blog to it and that’s cool? Just because yours is yours doesn’t mean it’s better or more informed in the opinions. She didn’t even like Cinderella III. Do you see me blasting her because I thought it was the bees knees? 😉

  4. Clever blogger maybe? Got you all talking??? Maybe I’m a cynic. Maybe it was a comment with a little vino on board? Maybe it’s a loola? But really having a freak attack about Disney how can we take that seriously? They need to get a life. Have they nothing important to upset them?

    • I checked the blog. It’s aaaaallll about Disney. A diehard fan, for sure. But that’s what made the tirade so epic….soooo random! I have irritated a lot of people in my day but cartoons? This was a first, for sure! 😉

  5. Whoa there. Sounds like someone took it a bit too seriously. I, for one, got a huge chuckle out of the whole thing! I also crack up at the YouTube videos about what the Disney princesses teach us. Hilarious! I can totally appreciate the humor in your post. And I still love the old school Disney flicks. Regardless of how they hold up in today’s society. So I’m right with ya. 🙂

    I totally appreciate your satirical humor. Keep it comin’. 🙂

    • Thank you so much! I couldn’t help but blog about how funny I thought it was! This person must really, really, really be into Disney movies, right?! It’s a joke.

      It came off as a joke, right? Or at least. I expect my followers (the only people I anticipate read my blog anyway) know that I either am A) serious as a heart attack but never about trivial topics or B) just a lunatic that likes to spout nonsense.

      They just don’t know that Disney movies, for me, will never fall into the “serious as a heart attack” category! 😉

  6. Love the pic. Very mature. ‘Am not! ‘ ‘Are too!’ I found it quite funny but was trapped in a reader that wouldn’t let me comment yesterday. I was laughing even if you couldn’t hear me.

  7. We need a badge for the side of our blog that commemorates the first comment we receive blasting a post. It happens to everyone, and like you said, usually about something that you would never expect. I’m still waiting for mine… 🙂

Leave a Reply

