What would I never do again? All of it. Once was enough but I have no regrets.

ImageToday, my good blogging buddy, Don of all Trades, wrote a post of things that he has done but would never do again. I listed some majors (some highly illegal) but it really got me to thinking. Because the truth is…aside from some academic accomplishments, I wouldn’t do 99% of the things that I partook of from ages 16-26 now that I have officially “grown up”.

For the entire decade, I lived a life of excess, self-gratification, and being just plain ol’ wild. Wild, I tell you, wild. For those that have followed me for a little while know that, while we all have a shelf life in this world, my imminent expiration date was shown to me at the tender age of 16. As a teenager, armed with that knowledge, I lived a very “no regrets” kind of life. I could be heard saying the words, “Why not?”, on nearly every occasion.

Because, truly, why not?

ImageI have lived two extraordinarily different lives and I can’t say that I regret either one of them because they both are who I am. I was single and crazy and excessive before I became a low-key soccer mom. While being a mom is infinitely more personally gratifying and emotionally satisfying…I have never and will never regret my past. How could you ever look back on such an exciting and wild ride with anything resembling an apology?

I am me. I have always been and will always be exactly who I am. Who that person is, is something that ebbs and flows, and I am proud to say that I change and evolve as person on a yearly basis. I can’t imagine now being who I was then anymore than I would have ever foreseen who I have become. Today, I am proud of who I am as a person, as a wife, and as a mother. I think my experiences have molded me into who I have grown to be and I can genuinely say that I like that person. I just like myself for different reasons than I did way back then.

I am grateful for every guy that dumped me because it lead me into the arms of my husband- whom I adore with all of my heart. I’m grateful for everything that went wrong in my life my last year in Florida because it sent me fleeing solstice in my home state of Texas- where I found my new life. I’m eternally grateful for every seemingly bad decision that brought me to such a wonderful end.

Life is short but memories are forever. And while I am happy to have every single one of mine…I would never -ever- do any of it over again.

ImagePhoto Credit:

www.gardengnomearts.com

lenasbeat.wordpress.com

sunnywithachanceofarmageddon.wordpress.com

Musings

Amber Perea View All →

I'm just living minute to minute, hour to hour, day to day.

8 Comments Leave a comment

    • Lol I never made a choice…it happened organically. I couldn’t tell you why, because I know there are moms that still have wild tendencies. I just changed somewhere along the lines. It went from, “why not?”, to, “I can give you 10 reasons why not!” Lol 🙂

  1. You need to make the best choice you can given what you know. Then don’t bother looking back because regret is something you are taught not something natural. I don’t really believe in guilt either. If you can’t be bothered to regret something, then you realize it is useless to feel guilty about what you did. Keep a healthy outlook.

  2. Know what you mean. I had an excessive decade hat ended when I met my husband. I can barely remember some of it (whether this is out of drunken memory loss or shame I’m not sure) and often shudder at some of the incidents or adventures that pop back up to say hello. I’m a great believer in not regretting stuff so I wouldn’t change it as I’m not sure I would be the person I am today (overweight, depressive and far too sarcastic for my own good) but I certainly wouldn’t repeat this time or the events that occurred.

    • Ooooh, me too! What’s worse is when I moved here to Austin and I thought, “Get crazy in a big city where no one knows me!”

      Now I’m bumping into them at the grocery all like, “yeah, soccer mom now” lol.

      Regrets are for the birds, though! It all makes you stronger!

Leave a Reply

