What does it all mean? What’s the point, really?

20130516-210325.jpg

I spent two and a half hours cleaning my house today. Two and a half hours (and this is just a regular day) scouring every available surface to eradicate dirt and grime.

7:30 PM…

It looks like heathen slobs -brought up in a barn- raising Tasmanian Devils that were dying of starvation have been camping out in my living room for weeks.

Why, oh why, do I even bother?

Le Sigh.

Parenting

Amber Perea View All →

I'm just living minute to minute, hour to hour, day to day.

32 Comments Leave a comment

  1. Someone once said to me (probably to make me feel better for my messy house, and it did) that in a spotless home lives a miserable child. Since then I’ve stopped beating myself up. In answer to your question… I have no idea. πŸ˜›

    • Lol my house is legit NEVER dirty when someone comes over. It’s almost a phobia (for exactly that reason). On Mother’s Day, I straightened up a bit but that’s about it and the jumped in the shower. Chris yelled up his sister am her husband wanted to stop by and drop off a card. I jumped out, threw on jeans, and got to scrubbing. For a thirty minutes visit. I gots issues. πŸ˜‰

      • Yeah, you’re a special kind of crazy, but that’s why I love ya. Our house is never cleaner than when we’re having guests over. My wife goes apeshit like we have to hid the fact that we live like pigs in front of people. Who gives a fuck?

  2. I completely sympathize. I even tried to clean after my son was asleep but he somehow knows and refuses to sleep for so long I can’t stay up much longer after he finally crashes.

  3. My favorite sayings relating to your post, “Excuse the mess, the kids are making memories” and “My house was clean yesterday, sorry you missed it!”

    I’m a tidy person but I’m outnumbered so I try not to be too hard on myself. I have been known to throw toys in the trash rather than put them back wherever they belong. That seems to be helping lately!

  4. My thoughts exactly. The same thing happens at my house. I mopped the floors yesterday and within five minutes of finishing there was watermelon on the floor. And cat vomit. Awesome.

  5. I periodically give up….until I happen upon an episode of Hoarders while channel surfing. That usually motivates me to keep it livable. Hey, some bacteria are friendly.

    • I could not be more with you! I’m far from a germaphobe but I like things to be orderly. Then I watch Hoarders and I’m like, “Gotta scrub! Gotta scrub!”

      That show freaks me out but it QUITE the motivator for me! πŸ™‚

      Thanks for taking the time to read and comment!

  6. My den has so many toys, tiny lego pieces, crayons and paper that everytime I walk through I break a crayon, step on legos (ouch!), or just plain trip and bust it! I think it is time for a trip to goodwill with some of my kids stuff! LOL

Leave a Reply

