Taking a little hiatus…

Last night, after a particularly bad week as a mom, I got into an epic fight with my husband. You know, the perfect punctuation to a bad day if there ever was one. Especially since my husband and I never fight. Bicker? Absolutely. But rarely fight to the point where feelings get hurt.

Then I finished off a bottle of wine and cried myself to sleep watching a depressing movie. What is it about us women that drives us to pour metaphoric salt on emotional wounds like that, right?

This morning I woke up and decided that I am going to take a little hiatus just to get my head straight and get a little perspective. While I love blogging and it has saved me a million times, it is also just one more thing on my plate right now, and I just need to focus for a little while or risk sounding dark, and we all know that isn’t my preferred writing style. I figured with the frequency of my usual posting everyone would worry that I had died, so I thought I would let everyone know that I am okay, albeit a little stressed out, and I will back to my regularly scheduled some e-card loving antics soon.Β 

Until next week or so,

Image

Β 

Uncategorized

Amber Perea View All →

I'm just living minute to minute, hour to hour, day to day.

33 Comments Leave a comment

  1. You probably won’t read this until next week, but I’ve had a rough week as well AND my husband and I ended with a big fight too. He’s off camping and I’m home sick with Doe. I’m still seething at him. Take a nice break, take some long baths, drink some wine……we’ll be here when you return. love and hugs:)

    • What? That’s insanity! I would be so frusterated if I was home with sickies and Chris was camping. But like you, I’d suck it up, too. We’re an awesome breed, us mommies. πŸ™‚

  2. missing your posts, but totally understand the need for a break. I have also been taking one. I figure when blogging starts to feel chore-ish… it’s time for a breather. Here’s hoping that your time away gives you clarity and helps you clear your head. Much love!

  3. your blog is wonderful but I know what you mean. With so much going on it can sometime be an added pressure and perceived responsibility to continue delivering to your readers when you have more pressing issues to resolve. Take a break, relax, re-group and hopefully recover from the trials that life has a habit of throwing at you. We will be waiting for when you hopefully return, I often find that during my low times it is far better to withdraw within my protective bubble and recharge than to carry on regardless which can make the lows even lower and harder to crawl out of. Take care and I do hope that you are feeling better soon. xxx

  4. Take a break, for sure. I need to do this, too. But it’s hard to take time off (from blogging, mothering, wife-ing, etc.) I’ll miss you, but can’t wait to read your first post when you come back.

  5. I was wondering what happened to you! Glad you’re okay and I hope everything works out for the best for your family. God bless you.

  6. Is it awful that it took me nearly a week to get here and write this?
    I don’t know how I missed this in the reader. Yes, you have been missed and I’m certain I’m not the only one.
    I’ve been all out of one-liners lately. I will have some good ones lined up for you on your return.
    Hugs,
    Kelly.

  7. I’m glad you are doing what you need to do for yourself – but in my opinion there’s a place to be dark too. You don’t always have to be as funny as you normally are. It’s not like none of us out here ever feel that same stuff. What’s the point of pretending just to entertain others?

    Write if you want, even if it’s dark – you don’t have to make sure you are ‘presentable’ before you come back. That’s what I say. Warm wishes.

    • As an admitted represser of all emotion…I don’t mind sharing negativity but the darker things I am just not comfortable expressing. Besides, if you just stuff them down hard enough, they go away.

      Okay, totally kidding on that last part. I feel that admitting that I was in that space and needed a break was as dark as I wanted to be publicly. I was honest about how and why I felt what I did…I just didn’t want to get much deeper than that. I wasn’t trying to be presentable…I just don’t want to read someone harp on their issues so I don’t do it for more than a post or two consecutively. Everyone feels bad sometimes, but I make it a point to breathe before I pour my “junk” on the world. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

