Something that makes me happy? Allow me to elaborate…

This one could be a gush-fest about how much that I love my beautiful boys. Too cliche, though, too obvious. Anyone that reads me knows that my sun rises and sets on my men. I’m attempting to step outside of the box this month. So, something that makes my heart sing that doesn’t have a penis and live in my house?

The soulful music of Bob Marley.

Image

There is nothing in this world that can turn my mood around like the blessed sounds of this god of a musician’s music coming from the speakers. How can you be sad when Bob Marley is playing?

Trick question! You can’t!

Reggae has been a part of my life for as long as I can truly remember. My mom was a fan so, of course, I grew up listening. Bob Marley is literally the soundtrack to my life. His quotes are the ones that I hold nearest and dearest to my heart and ones that have gotten me through the hardest times in my life. Like this one…

Image

Or this little gem about unrealistic expectations in love…

Image

Since I have had a love affair with Reggae for forever it is just something that I can turn on, tune out, and forget the world around me. When I can’t find happiness in my heart and all of my reserves are tapped dry…Bob Marley always has and always will have my back.

Some of my best memories of my mother are sitting in her car jammin’ (pun totally intended) the tunes of this guy over and over. I remember asking her if I could be a Buffalo Soldier when I grew up, for goodness sakes.

I even have my own little shrine that my husband did for me in the living room….

Image

Yes, you are seeing this correctly. This is my own personal tribute to the thing that makes me happy. The man, the myth, the legend…Mr. Bob Marley! Because the one good thing about music, when it hits you feel no pain.

Photo Credit:

iquotesnjokes.blogspot.com

jake-n-baked.tumblr.com

wordgraphics.tumblr.com

Blog Challenge

Amber Perea View All →

I'm just living minute to minute, hour to hour, day to day.

18 Comments Leave a comment

  1. Amen, sista! We have a shrine to Bob in our house, too. Have you ever heard of the band called Groundation? They are amazing and put on a really great Bob Marley tribute concert with lots of B-sides and rare versions of songs. Highly recommended for any Marley fan: http://www.groundation.com.

Leave a Reply

