I heart bad boys…with a heart of gold.

tumblr_mnr4lxqesr1r06s0vo1_500

Today of the “Be Happy Blogging Challenge” is a day that I can really sink my teeth into. Three ways to win my heart. Or, should I say, how it was won when it was still up for sale, at least. And yes, the man that won it all the way to the alter was all of these things and more. Which is how he got me to the alter to begin with, right?

Considering my heart is a weird and wonderfully confused place this will be entertaining to convey to people that don’t know me very well. I’m an odd girl; a strange soul. People that know me, know that I am an island unto my own weirdness. Which means that I openly admit that I never, ever grew out of my “bad boy phase”. Most sensible girls do after a few pesky heartbreaks. Not me. I attempted to date the nice guys, I really did, but the heart wants what the heart wants. And my heart doesn’t want a man that is in touch with his emotions in any way, shape, or form. In fact, I actually broke up with a guy in college for crying in a movie on the first date. The. First. Date. No, thank you, I am good on that.

Once upon a time, in a land far away, I was a single person. I was wildly narcissistic, utterly self involved, and the biggest know-it-all you would ever want to meet. Therefore, you would think that I would have a hard time finding people to date at all with those stellar qualities. Though, that was not the case, however, as men always like a girl that they think that they can be the one to tame. But I was not one to be tamed! No sir, not me, no how. I was meant to run wild and free until the day I was tricked into domestication by my now-husband. Because that is actually how you tame someone that is wild at their very core. You don’t try to force or coerce as you will spook them like a gazelle in the wild and off they go! You make them think that it was all their idea until one day they are sitting home on a Saturday night and wondering…”What happened here?” Yep, that is how it is done. I’ve witnessed it firsthand.

But I digress. Before my days of mopping and diaper changing, I had a heart that was up for auction. And these were the three main ways to bid for it.

  • Self confidence is an understatement. I liked men that were confident to the point of sheer, blinding arrogance. I liked men that thought that their flaws are what made them sexy. I wanted a guy that never had to question if something looked good on them because the fact that it was on their body made it look good. I loved a man that knew who he was and didn’t concern himself with what other people thought. This, of course, led to dating my fair share of jerks and, for that, I have no one to blame but myself. But I could not help it. Something about a self confident man just got my knickers in a twist.
arrogant
  • Having a sense of humor (the more twisted the better) was an absolute non-negotiable. Being able to laugh at yourself is just sexy. Not in a self-deprecating fashion (see above) but in a way that makes me know that you embrace that you’re human even though you are self confident as the day is long (see above). Being able to laugh is the thing that makes life fun. It makes a rainy day better. It makes life worth living. The only thing I like in my life dry…is my toast.
379706_488765061164596_1442196194_n
  • The third and final way to my heart was someone with a story. I loved a good heartbreak, orphaning, or some other variation of having experienced loss or heartbreak. People that have been through things are strong. They are ready for the world. The things that make or break you in this life is the ability to pick yourself up by your bootstraps when all is seemingly lost and standing up to face the day. People without a story aren’t there yet. And I have been there for too long to have to show someone how.
tumblr_m5ea9zaMme1rngb80o1_500

So, yes, basically the way to my heart was to be a damaged A$$hole. Which is why it took me so long to find my prince. Finding a bad boy is easy. Finding the bad boy with a heart of gold…that takes some time and some serious trial and error. But it was totally worth it. I couldn’t be more happy with my husband.

Even when he’s being an arrogant prick.

The-Breakfast-Club-Pictures-the-breakfast-club-8841074-452-320

My first crush…speaks volumes, huh?

Photo Credit:

kensegall.com

www.tumblr.com

www.fanpop.com

Blog Challenge

Amber Perea View All →

I'm just living minute to minute, hour to hour, day to day.

11 Comments Leave a comment

  1. Ha! Love this. Question….does your Dad embody some of those same characteristics? Just curious. Not that we all want a man just like our Dads, but was just wondering….love is so fascinating.

    I was just thinking about the arrogance thing and how that is a total turn off for me….although I did have one bad boy boyfriend after high school. This was a fun one to read. And, yes, there is something about the bad boy in the breakfast club that is alluring to us all even though I really don’t find him all that physically attractive. Like, at all.

    • Me, either! But my mom said she knew I was in for a world of heartbreak when he was my first crush! Lol And yes, my dad was all of those things. Classic narcissist which makes me a classic codependent which makes me a seriously devoted mom and wife.

      Psychology is great for unbelievable amounts of self awareness, right? πŸ˜‰

    • Are they? People want to live in a shell, I guess. They only want to see positive things. I think you’re awesome.

      If people don’t accept you, don’t accept them. πŸ™‚

  2. I completely relate to number 3!!! I love stories of heartbreak and angst and having all the feelings at once. There is nothing more interesting than someone who just knows the shit about life. It also makes me feel like they might be able to deal with me when I’m having all the feelings at once.

    I used to have a thing for arrogance but I grew tired of being used as a commodity, so I’m trying out the nice guy thing. So far it’s actually not going too badly πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

