Kicking and scratching gets you the “naughty step”…

ImageAh, my sweet, sweet Jpeezy. The light of my life and the sun in my personal solar system. He legitimately has a heart the size of Texas, genuinely loves all people (even strangers, help me lord), and is just the cutest little thing one could ever hope to encounter with that dimpled smile that could melt even the coldest, blackest heart. Now, I know that all mothers think that their children are the most beautiful creatures ever to grace the planet (how could we not?) but I have to say that I think my little guy is just plain pretty. Big, liquid brown eyes that are ever-so almond shaped, gorgeous skin tone, my high cheek bones…he is a stunner, that is for certain.

But do not let the pretty face fool you. That little imp is one heck of an emotional roller coaster!

And what do wildly emotional toddlers with communication issues do? They scratch. They kick. They are even known to bite on occasion. Oooooh, he is SO lucky that he is such a cutie patootie or I think I would throw him to the wolves! However, since I wouldn’t know where to begin looking for a wolf and there is that pesky I-love-him-more-than-life-itself thingy, I have to find another way to work on these personality “quirks” and fast! Thankfully, he is finally beginning to actually grasp timeouts as a form of punishment and so now we have begun the “naughty step” timeout.

And no, it’s not nearly as naughty *eyebrow wiggle* as it sounds.

For some unbeknownst reason, he will actually sit on that step (the fourth one up from the bottom on the stairs and no other, of course) for a timeout without too much grief or screaming and we all know that I avoid that kind of behavior like the plague, right? So there he sits, on his newly named “naughty step”, and gets timeouts for his outwardly aggressive behavior.

This is where it gets interesting and unbelievably hilarious. It is so difficult to keep a straight face and force him to stay there while he yells, “I sowee!” and “Hugs?!” over and over with his little arms outstretched. A short minute ago he was hitting me and now he is giving an Oscar worthy proformance that would rival anything Meryl Streep could produce– crocodile tears and all. I can tell you -with no hint of shame- that this little guy may not have a firm grasp on the intricacies of the English language yet but he certainly knows how to manipulate his mamma!

I am not sure whether I should be incredibly worried…or extremely proud!

Image

Photo Credit:

www.someecards.com

www.cafepress.com

Parenting Uncategorized

Amber Perea View All →

I'm just living minute to minute, hour to hour, day to day.

10 Comments Leave a comment

  1. This is too funyy and exactly what my Aiden would do. He uses,” mommy pretty. Mommy happy?” These kids are just too smart.

  2. My dad always said he should have fed me to the pigs when my bones were still soft. We didn’t have wolves around when I was a kid. 🙂 I’m always wiped out by the flood of remorse that comes from getting caught. I always say “I don’t want you to be sorry. I want you to stop…” Sign.. Kids… never a herd of swine around until it’s too late.

  3. Well written. I can picture him so well. I remember watching a documentary on two conjoined twins. They were about three and when one of them was misbehaving the other would say to the mum, “She should be in the naughty corner”. So the mum would agree and over she would go. The other one naturally had to go too, but didn’t mind at all! it was amazing to watch.

  4. Lol – I dread this for down the road. Roo already throws fits when she doesn’t get her way. She arches her back and throws her head back. It’ll be nice once she can better communicate and understand but I know she will be a handful 😦

Leave a Reply

