Progress: when it rains it pours…

20130711-204154.jpgOkay, is it a full moon tonight or something? Jp has said no less than 10 fully-coherent-never-before-uttered-full-on sentences tonight.

Seriously, it’s like listening to a totally different child right now.

He is following (simple one-step) directions, using sentences outside of his phrases, and expressing himself in a way that I have never heard before. He even was watching a movie and seemed to grasp the storyline!

Please, please, please let this stick. This is the first time that I have felt really, truly hopeful in so long…

 

Childhood Development

Amber Perea View All →

I'm just living minute to minute, hour to hour, day to day.

20 Comments Leave a comment

  1. I am so delighted for you all. What a great evening and to have hope is everything. I remember a couple of years ago I was teaching four autistic children swimming. They were 6 and 7 years old. Three were highly functioning but one was not. He was the most beautiful blonde boy. He sucked his thumb and shook his head whilst looking at the roof all the time. He was non verbal.
    After the fourth lesson I had taken him in the pool and he had begun to imitate my hand actions etc. I handed him back to his teachers and took one of the other kids in. Then I heard the teachers shouting at me to come back. I thought it was because one of them had almost drowned in the baby pool! However when I went across the pool the three teachers were with my little blonde beauty and two of them were crying. Seemingly he had said twice “Want Tric” Needless to say he got an extra go. Amazing really how these little ones can actually speak but just don’t.

    • That’s amazing! I’ve been trying for a month to get Jp to say a particular sentence and last night he said a bunch I wasn’t even working on! He just has his own pace! πŸ™‚

      It really was like he was listening and absorbing but was just waiting to bust them out and really surprise us! πŸ™‚

  2. Kids are funny like that. I notice with my students all the time, they stay stagnant for what feels like ever, and ten all of a sudden have a HUGE peak of progress that shocks the hell out of me.
    I take that back. Kids are amazing. Looks like JP is setting his new “normal”!!!

Leave a Reply

