My husband’s mid-life crisis: It could be worse…

imagesA little bit ago my husband decided that he wanted to get a sports car. Not a super new one, just one that made him feel young again (and he would look “cool” driving around in). We bantered back and forth for quite awhile as I wanted it to have a back seat (I have a truck already) and, of course, be solid and reliable as well as attention getting.

Finally, he decided upon a fancy silver Camaro with T-tops.

He is endlessly teased about his “mid-life crisis-mobile” and other mom friends ask me why I would “let” him get it (to which I wonder silently how a marriage works where you “allow” your husband to do things). And I always respond the exact same way…

“If my husband has the need to feel young again, I would prefer he traded in his four-door for a two-door with some torque than trade me in for some 21-year-old named Brittany!”

And, if I’m honest, I actually really love to drive it! πŸ˜‰

ImagePhoto Credit:

Someecards.com

chumplady.com

Musings

Amber Perea View All →

I'm just living minute to minute, hour to hour, day to day.

18 Comments Leave a comment

    • I think women look hot in sports cars and men look like they are compensating or reliving “glory days”. But…our happy family has three parts and that’s what made him happy. So be it. πŸ™‚

  1. I wanted a sports car like that for my first car! My parents said no 😦 owning one is on my to do list!
    I also wonder how a marriage works when you allow your partner to do things and I’m not even nearly married!

    • That was my husband. He always wanted one so when it was time to buy a new car he just wanted one and why not, really?

      And being a “ball and chain” with rules and nagging has never been my thing. I certainly hate when people tell me what to do so I being that wife was never an issue. πŸ™‚

    • So true, so true. Husbands are always better when they are happier, right (and as long as no one named Brittany is up to that smile, why not)? πŸ˜‰

      Snuggle that baby for me! πŸ™‚ Ps- what IS little man’s name?!

  2. Enjoyed this! And so true – rather a car than a bimbo! My husbands midlife crisis only ever involves his facial hair. He goes from full beard, to goatee, to shaved completely, to mustache. And when the midlife crisis is over, he leaves it with just a bit of stubble. It could be worse πŸ˜‰

    • OMG! My husband is doing the same thing for the last few months! He has always had a full face full of facial hair (but then again, so did every boyfriend I ever had) so when he shaved it off I was shocked. And didn’t like it all that much so he grew it back. Then he shaved it off again. Then he admitted he didn’t like all the grey that was coming in! Poor guys…we can just dye ours!

Leave a Reply

