Mid-Blogging Life Crisis…

ImageToday I saw a comment in my inbox from Donnie Trades, one of my all-time favorite bloggers that I had not heard from in a while. It was then that I was struck with the realization of just how many of my original “blogging crew” was still around. Most not at all, more pop in and out sporadically, and only one still rolls on with constant steam and regularity besides myself.

It is like I woke up one day and everyone that I was close with in the blogesphere was gone.

My blog is only seven months old and in that time I have seen a plethora of bloggers come and go and come and go, again. I mean, I completely get it. Blogging takes up quite a bit of time and energy and, for most of us, pays nothing. Some days, it is hard to find the time to sit down at the computer. Others, to have something to say that is worth reading at all.

The fact is…the longer you blog, the more narcissistic you feel.

How can you imagine that people are eagerly waiting, on pins and needles, to read your mediocre writing about your family/hobbies/interests/opinions/world views and NOT be something of a narcissist? Besides, once your blog hits a certain “level” (stats, likes, comment volume) you feel frustrated when you see dips. That was pure gold, people! 15 Likes?! That is just unacceptable! Why do I even bother?

So, sure, I can totally see where most people either run out of brilliant witticisms or just become disenchanted with the whole process.

Even with myself, I started this blog to process the idea that my child was having delays that my husband did not want to talk to me about. Now he will. Now I no longer need to process…I am happy and comfortable with my life. Now I have daily yoga. Now I am starting the process of volunteering with a preemie mom support group as a mentor.

So why do I still hold onto the blog when finding the time is even harder now then it ever was before?

I suppose I am just a narcissist like that.

ImageNow let’s make it with the “likes”, folks, this mirror is not going to kiss itself! πŸ˜‰

Photo Credit:

www.aspirekc.com

www.micheleborba.com

Uncategorized

Amber Perea View All →

I'm just living minute to minute, hour to hour, day to day.

28 Comments Leave a comment

  1. I’ve struggled to keep up with everyone’s blogs and to post anything that isn’t total horseshit on my own blog. I wouldn’t say I’m losing interest in blogging for sure, but it’s not the new car smelling thing that it used to be. I guess we started out blogs at about the same time!

    • I couldn’t possibly keep up with everyone’s blogs. When I had a hundred followers, sure. But my reader now scrolls on for days. I don’t have the time or patience. πŸ˜‰

      But what’s crazy is all of my commenters now…I barely know. I feel like a jerk because I don’t keep up with them like I used to do y’all. πŸ™‚

  2. there ya go…..a like, now only 14 more to go!! hahaha……I feel the same way, I started blogging in March just because there are just certain things I can’t really share with my husband….I guess I can….but then he just starts to glaze over and then it’s like talking to a brick wall……he use to like to listen to me ramble on about nonsense, but wait that was when we were dating and he HAD to look interested, right?? hahaha

    • No, like 19 more to make it “acceptable”! See, this is what happens when you blog too long. πŸ˜‰

      Seriously though, I love to write but I don’t know how much longer I can without a shout-out from Freshly Pressed, you know? πŸ˜‰

      They still all fake it…but back then you mistook that glazed over with boredom look for a loving one. πŸ˜‰

      • ahhhh….Freshly Pressed!! wouldn’t that be amazing to one day found out that you were given the thumbs up by the magical Freshly Pressed people?? I know I haven’t paid my dues yet, haven’t posted enough meaningful Daily Prompts or Post a days…..but maybe one day some one will wonder over to my site and give me a shot?? ……I know, wishful thinking!!

  3. Summer is sooooooo busy!! Not that I’m part of your original crew or anything, but I rarely have time to read ANYTHING, let alone post something that seems meaty enough for my peeps.

    I still love you even if I suck at liking or commenting or posting….

    Also? 9 cracking days until MAUI!!! BAAAAAAHHHH!!!!

  4. HEY! I’m still here…..just had a crazy week with family. I know how you feel. Even though I’ve been blogging for forever….but, I don’t stress about it too much anymore. Because I find that if I don’t put pressure on myself about the blog, I’m much happier. And, I really try to edit my reader every once in a while if there are blogs I’m just not reading so that it feels more intimate.

    • *Singing* Everybody coming out of the woodwork now…. πŸ™‚

      Hey, hey, hey! I sooooo miss you guys. I’m just being a baby. I totally miss Michele, too but did talk to her by email. Cause I’m a stalker like that. πŸ™‚

    • Just that she had been wrestling with blogging for a while and was just at a point where it wasn’t making her happy anymore. She felt guilty when she couldn’t answer comments and it was something that was causing her stress and not bringing her any joy.

      She also worried about people in the medical profession stumbling upon it and recognizing her or her kid’s names and having that window into her life.

      So she pulled the plug. I check in a throw a winky face her way every so often. She’s still hilarious, but promises she’s reading our blogs from afar. I like to think every time a search engine term of my blog’s full and correct name is her. πŸ˜‰

  5. I don’t have kids, but I truly enjoy your blog. Your writing style is so natural and good, but I learn something too, and you are relatable. In my experience, you can burn out quicker just to randomly post. It’s a quality vs. quantity issue for me, I’ve reigned things in so I don’t hit that wall.

  6. I’ve been on here over a year but just in the last few months became “regular” with it and am enjoying it but the idea of burnout has crossed my mind or that the novelty will wear off. I’m hoping not…hang in there and maybe we can all motivate eachother to keep it up! It certainly does take a lot of time but I think writing may be a better use of time than some of my other “time-wasters” πŸ˜‰

  7. AHEM. I have not been Pressed either. I still like blogging, but it’s hard to type with your hands full.
    Also, I like to feed my inner narcissist just enough that I will continue on forever. Unless I have more children. Then I’m outtie.

  8. I get it. Mine started as a way to document a pregnancy and it’s just kept on going. Despite the fact that we do this “for ourselves,” it’s nice to get some acknowledgement and validation, damn it!!

Leave a Reply

