Nakie-Palooza White Trash Fiesta 2013

ImageWhile I never truly need a great reason to feel like white trash (I have toys in my yard, I wear sweat pants to the grocery, and we are one of the only homes on the block that doesn’t spend all day Saturday tidying up the lawn and flowers much to my neighbor’s dismay)…there is just something about having the dirty kid rolling around the house in only a diaper and a mischievous smile that just drives that “maybe, maybe not” directly to the most-certainly-you-are-white-trash-just-look-at-your-child-for-goodness-sakes side of the meter.

Jp has always hated baths but now, in all of his infinite wisdom, he has decided that he hates clothes just as much.

At least when he was dressed you could not tell he was filthy because his clothes were clean. Now he just looks like something out of a bad movie about a trailer park. I feel like I should just roll my hair up in curlers and drink beer in the yard. Why not, right?

The more I try to put clothes on him– the more he takes them off. On. Off. On. Off. It is enough to make your head spin. And in the end I just give up and let him run around in his skivvies.

Parenting (while maintaining the minimum amount of sanity required not to pull your hair out) is all about picking your battles. I am not going to make myself crazy -and my laundry pile ridiculous- trying to keep this kid in cute duds.

In the meantime…I have to go try and throw Pigpen in the bathtub. Wish me luck. πŸ˜‰

Image

Photo Credit:

turbowhitetrash.com

www.infinitecat.com

Parenting

Amber Perea View All →

I'm just living minute to minute, hour to hour, day to day.

16 Comments Leave a comment

  1. lol That’s all my toddler wears. Well, we’ve started potty-training, so she wears panties most of the time now. I had to take a break for the past few days, so she’s been running around in diapers again.

    She’s barely 2.5 and her hair is to the middle of her back. She goes nuts when I try to brush her hair. So not only is she running around mostly naked, but her hair is all crazy and in her face.

    Not to mention she loves eating raspberries and painting.

    She’s my wild child. πŸ™‚

    • Lol Don’t throw your fancy pants potty training in my face! πŸ˜‰

      The wild hair must really paint an awesome picture. Jp’s is boy short but all over the place. Kids…crazy little things, aren’t they? πŸ˜‰

      • Oh, man, I wish it were fancy pants, successful, and done. No such luck, and I’ll be posting about my failure this week. 😦 Pleading for help.

  2. If it makes you feel better, I have taken to feeding Destroyer naked for certain meals, because there just seems to be no bib big enough in the world anymore.
    Nothing like a toddler chewing on a rib bone, covered in sauce wearing nothing but a diaper. Maybe we should our kids together….sounds like a match made in the trailer park, lol.

  3. Once again we live parallels. It’s been the summer of naked at my house, although at least my little Lady Godiva will wear clothing. And my “flower bed?” Yes, I used quotes on purpose. However at least this year the runaway crabgrass choked off the indomitable dollar weed.

    • The beds that flowers used to be are now a weed war. And while I pay someone to mow it…it doesn’t look pretty. I wish it would magically (or cheaply) be fixed without me having to plant more flowers that I will just kill. My poor, poor neighbors property value. πŸ˜‰

      • Lol Yes! I am doing them a service! I always tell my husband that I blame my parents. They “punished” me with yard work growing up…and I got in my fair share of trouble (punk rock kid with the rainbow hair? Of course) so now, as an adult, I hate it. Totally hate it. I clean and clean the inside but I have to be rallied and forced by husband to do yard work! πŸ™‚

  4. When we named our 6th child Eden Victoria, her uncle said, well, at least you know she ain’t ever going to be trailer trash with a name like that. Little did we know that just a year later we indeed would be living in a trailer (mobile home) on the top of a hill in the middle of the Texas Hill Country. Go figure.

  5. Bwahaha! Seriously! How many times are you going to make me laugh out loud? Loving it. Two thoughts: 1) We also love our “pants-optional” lifestyle. 2) Backyard kiddie swimming pool? (aka bath in disguise). Or even just a sprinkler? It’s better than nothing, right?

Leave a Reply

