What. The. Fudgesicle. Just. Happened? Am I being punk’d? Where’s Ashton?

Meltdown city.

Population- 1 balls-to-the-wall angry toddler

On the outskirts of Crazy Town- 1 insanely confused mom (AKA- Me)

Image

Yes, Jp must have taken these. Like, the whole flipping bottle.

Yes, today’s trip the grocery was something to go down in the history books as one of those times as a mom that I had no idea what was wrong, how to fix it, or what the heck I was supposed to do.

Jp lost his ever-loving mind and I was just along for the ride. And by “along for the ride” I mean that I was trying everything in my power to wrangle him, to calm him, and to keep him off of the ground while he screamed like he was being murdered for “Dadda” (who wasn’t there) and tossed everything out of the cart and onto the floor.

Holy batman, we are not in Kansas anymore.

It was one of those moments that I have documented here on occasion…one where I look at him and I wonder which came first? The chicken or the egg? Does his communication disorder cause this type of wildly erratic behavior? Or does whatever causes this mega-insane behavior cause the communication disorder? Or neither? Is he just the most high strung, overly emotional kid ever?

I know that not being able to express his wants used to make this an every day event. But now, with his higher level of understanding, I haven’t seen this magnitude of crazy pants in a long time. And boy, I didn’t miss it, either.

Thank goodness I am a mom that has been down this road before. I assured everyone that looked on with concern as I drug him through the store (I only needed TWO things. I was NOT driving home to drop him off and then all of the way back over for a bag of chips and a tomato to accompany subs) screaming for his dadda that no, I was not kidnapping him, everything was fine.

*Pageant wave and stuff him back in the basket and then retrieve my wallet that he flung across the aisle and pick up the contents*

And, after he passed out in the car on the way home from sheer exhaustion, Depeche Mode‘s ‘Enjoy the Silence‘ came on and I actually laughed out loud.

After that debacle…I definitely enjoyed the silence.

Image

Parenting and Childhood Development

Amber Perea View All →

I'm just living minute to minute, hour to hour, day to day.

14 Comments Leave a comment

    • Hey, I’m willing to concede that. If he understood when other people besides me and Chris spoke…I’d be dead certain. ๐Ÿ˜‰

      Though now, since they are less frequent, I am starting to think that he has a communication disorder and he’s a spoiled brat. These may not be related issues. Lol ๐Ÿ˜‰

  1. The worst is the unexpected. If he always had a tantrum at 5 pm or at this store or some other known trigger then one could pre-plan for it. But it is the unknown that always made it so much worse for me when my son had (or has) tantrums. And it doesn’t get easier! I used to think I couldn’t wait until the kids were more self sufficient. Now my self sufficient son self medicates with drugs and punches holes in our walls. Ahh, hum, I think I want the toddler back. At least I am the bigger person in that scenario!

    • Oh honey, such big hugs! I was an angry, terrible, out of control teen and I grew out of it and worshiped my mom for sticking with me through all of it. It will get better!

      And I actually told my husband that I would not be taking Jp to the store at that hour again. He doesn’t nap but does get sleepy in cars so maybe that was just overload for him. I have done it many times…but it just takes one of “those” kinds of fits to make me make some changes. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Hang in there! My oldest, my son, who is now 18 years old, used to have the most outrageous tantrums. As a toddler, he had the worst temper. Used to try to hit and kick me, screaming bloody murder. Now he’s nothing like that little boy, temper-wise. He’s caring and funny and always helping people. I hope that gives you hope that it won’t last forever. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Yes, that TOTALLY makes me feel better. It’s unnerving. All I want is to think that this isn’t an integral part of who he is– his personality. I know that kids have tantrums but when his are bad…they don’t look like an average tantrum so it’s nice to hear a story that it gets better. Thank you SO much for sharing.

  3. I have so been there. (Thankfully?) we were out of town when the worst supermarket tantrum happened so I just kept telling myself that it didn’t matter because none of these ppl would ever see us again. It was awful though. Then by the time we got back to my friends house he was acting like a perfect little angel. Like nothing had happened. I thought I was in the Twilight Zone.

    • Twilight zone is perfect! That is exactly what it was like. Jp used to have them all of the time but he was smaller. Now that he is three he’s a big kid. He weighs like 40+ pounds and is over three feet tall. I am 5’2. The reason this one was so awkward was that I /almost couldn’t control him. That was the worst part. And, of course, at the store that I frequent so I will certainly be seeing all of the people again. Especially every single one of the clerks that I saw staring. Lol Thank goodness I am impossible to embarrass. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  4. I’m simultaneously laughing and commiserating. I thought I was the only one who worried that onlookers would call the authorities about a suspected kidnapping whenever Stella flipped out in public somewhere.

    • Lol he kept pointing (to no one) and yelling dadda and people were looking where he was pointing and then at me…I swear, it was the first tantrum that I was a little flustered! ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

