Mommy blogging roadblock…

Throughout the last year, I have clearly touted myself as a parenting blog. I consistently write and pour my heart out about the unique and challenging experiences that come along with raising an atypically developing toddler, the fun and quirky moments that all parents face, and the honest (though rarely admitted openly) and primitive feelings that accompany both.

And frankly, I am truly starting to bore myself to tears. As I sit down to write lately, I find myself thinking, “Been there, said that, done that already.”

This does not mean that I love parenting any less and it goes without saying that I love my son. But talking about him all of time just makes me feel like a crazy, obsessed mom that is described in this video.

A quick (warning: unedited) synopsis is this:

“Fuck kids. They’re getting entirely too much attention. And I know what some of you are thinking: ” Jesus, he’s not going to attack children, is he?” Yes he is! He’s going to attack children. And remember, this is Mr. Conductor talking; I know what I’m talking about.

And I also know that all you boring single dads and working moms, who think you’re such fucking heros, aren’t gonna like this, but somebody’s gotta tell you for your own good: your children are overrated and overvalued, and you’ve turned them into little cult objects. You have a child fetish, and it’s not healthy. And don’t give me all that weak shit, “Well, I love my children.” Fuck you! Everybody loves their children; it doesn’t make you special. : : : John Wayne Gacy loved his children. Yes, he did. That’s not what I’m talking about. What I’m talking about is this constant, mindless yammering in the media, this neurotic fixation that suggests that somehow everything–everything–has to revolve around the lives of children. It’s completely out of balance.”

-George Carlin

Raw but littered with truth. As moms we are encouraged to be these over-achieving-Pinterest-scouring-gotta-be-on-top-of-every-tiny-move-that-they-make parents. “Enjoy every moment because before you know it, it will all be over!” That is all that we hear and are being downloaded with endlessly. I appreciate the sentiment but I am just not a helicopter, over-scheduling mom with an obsessive streak. I let him be his own kid most of the time. He likes to do his own thing and I am great with that. I want to raise an independent and self-sufficient child. I, personally, was raised that way. My mom was not hovering over me every minute of every day, planning every minute of my life and I grew up to be a stronger person for it. Life is not kind to everyone and without that self-reliance…I do not know where I would be right now.

Does that mean that I never play with Jp and he is running around like something out of Lord of the Flies every day? Of course not but some days he does. Dirt and all. Do I feel that need to have him be on my lap at all times? No, not really. I want him to be a kid that will be able to go to sleepovers and have fun and make memories that last a lifetime …not the one that calls home at midnight crying. Is that a strange priority? Maybe so and I can fully admit that. But I am aware, as I grew up as an only child myself, you have to have a strong sense of self and the ability to just be. It could be a lonely place without brothers and sisters…which other only children have told me they found the experience…but I was never lonely. Because I never relied on anyone to entertain me. I could crawl up in my mom’s lap whenever I wanted but I was just as happy playing in my room for hours on end.

With this philosophy in mind– it is easy to see why writing a blog every single day about parenting and talking about my son endlessly makes me feel vapid. It makes me feel boring. It makes me sound like one of those uber obsessed parents that I am really not.

Okay, maybe a tiny bit obsessed. I love that McNugget like a fat kid loves cake but I am also the mom that plops on the bench at the park and lets him run. I am always there to shout, “Way to go, buddy!”, and give him a big clap and take some pictures but that time, for me, is a chance to relax since he can play without breaking anything that I care about. Mommy needs to breathe.

So having a full time hobby like blogging that includes more parenting talk is becoming…difficult at times to say the least. Others, I cannot stop talking about him since he is non-stop being cute/funny/crazy/wild/ect. It has become my quandary.

What do the rest of my mommy bloggers do when you start to bore yourselves? Or am I the only one? I hate watching my stats plateau and then dive from inactivity but I cannot seem to bring myself to write one more monologue right now about how much Jp loves peanut butter. Thoughts?

Uncategorized

Amber Perea View All →

I'm just living minute to minute, hour to hour, day to day.

25 Comments Leave a comment

  1. I don’t consider you just a “mommy” blogger. THat’s stupid. Write about other shit too. Write about Austin or your past or how great your tits were before you had a kid. You know, girl stuff.

  2. I’m with Don. I love you as a person. I have seen your own personality in your posts. I do not consider you a mommy blogger who only blogs about her own son. I think you have loads to say and I like the way you express yourself. This is your own blog, write what you want. Go on live up to that non conforming purple hair, I did a post this evening that I broke my heart laughing at as I was writing it. My kids thought I was cracked. That is what blogging should feel like. I have done other posts that i have sat typing up with tears running down my cheeks. I wrote them for me and hoped others read them. Its my blog I can do as I please and so can you!

  3. I hope that you will blog about you. I try and post on a variety if topics because if I keep it to music, I’m going to lose the follows in remote areas who have never heard of Tim and Garth and Patsy. I don’t wake up feeling like I must post, I wait until I have a specific thing in mind. Blog about whoever or whatever you are in the moment.

    • I have always had this thought that I had to be cohesive but I think at this point I just want to blog freely. I think I have built my blog up and now I could care less about some of the things that I used to. Revamp is a’ coming! πŸ™‚

  4. Change your blog! Change the tagline to something more all-encompassing of you, add a Page feature and put all your blog posts about Jp in there, but make your blog more about you too. My blog was originally all about my kids, and it didn’t feel genuine because there is so much more to me than just that. So, I switched it up, started blogging about my childhood, my past, my anxiety, etc. so now, I feel like it’s just a blog about ME and my view on raising my kids. I don’t know if any of that helps, but I know that if you try to box yourself in too much, eventually you might not feel the need to blog at all, and I for one will miss you. πŸ™‚

    • I love all of your ideas. I am going to do it. I like to write, I am just so tired of being a one trick pony. I have to grow and evolve the blog. You’re right…it’s either that or bail and I think I would miss it too much! πŸ™‚

  5. I think these same kinds of thoughts are what -in part- inspired my own latest post. A good friend of mine recently asked me to guest host on his Internet radio/podcast thing he does. I turned it down because I feel afraid. All I do is parent and think about parenting – oh yeah and my job. I used to feel informed with my finger on the pulse of current events. Now? Ha!!
    I don’t know what the answer is, other than to give ourselves permission and freedom to rediscover ourselves again.

    • I know the feeling. I am so behind the times when it comes to social issues and anything that is current. But I think I am ready to revamp and branch out. I want to be more than a mom at this point in blogging. And in life, really.

      I guess I can hope for people to follow but you can’t live your life (or blog) for others. πŸ™‚

  6. Great post and totally fitting with how I feel lately. While I am guilty of being slightly helicopter-ish…it’s not because I’m some super crafty, Pinterest mom…it’s just that I’m a control freak. And yes, I am boring myself with some of the topics I am writing about. I am multi-faceted! I think..or rather i want and need to be. It is definitely time to stretch the envelope. But at the same time, many times, nothing is more meaningful to me than the goings on of my kids. Totally a catch 22. Still, I strive to expand. Good luck and I’m eager to read your new inspirations…though I love your parenting posts too πŸ™‚

    • I could never stop parenting posting. It is always going to be a major facet of who I am. Just not the ONLY facet as I have always strove to keep this blog cohesive. But one can only blog one topic for so long, I suppose.

      Control freak is something that all moms know about. It is just something that most of are in one respect or another. πŸ˜‰

  7. You have three choices: keep doing the one theme thing, branch out on this blog or start another one and link it here. I have done the last two. Mine started as a poetry blog and quickly went into all-hell-breaks-loose. Then I decided to shive off the poetry into another blog and keep the original for real events and funny stories and the like. So far, working well. And BTW, I follow you because I like your writing, personality and feistiness. You could blog about turning your favorite underwear pink and I wouldn’t bat an eyelash. Go for it!

  8. I started my blog with the idea that I would cover several topics. The fact that parenting takes over reflects what my life is like. I’m trusting that the other topics will still be there when I start to bore myself.

Leave a Reply

