If the unexamined life is not worth living…suicide is always an option, Socrates.

One cannot simply write a new tagline and not give it one measly post of explanation, can they? Not this girl, that is for certain. What is the point of a blog if you are not unnecessarily and excessively wordy, eh? And, to me, a tagline is a powerful tool in letting people know the soul and voice of your blog and who you are as a person as well as a blogger. With this in mind, I chose my new one with great care, as it is a large defining quality that I posses and a large facet of what makes me, me.

ImageWhile highly analytical by nature, almost to an annoying degree (for those closest to me), I have a deep, unyielding disdain for pondering the great philosophies of the universe as a whole. Though I can be found discussing the human condition with the same wide eyed, obsessive passion that most others reserve for a love of art, fine wine, or politics (or whatever else it is that people are into these days) I simply cannot be bothered to even listen to the ramblings of pseudo-intellectuals contemplating the absurd and useless complexities of life.

Boooooooring.

The glass is not half empty nor is it half full. It is simply half of a glass of liquid. Your perception of it does not actually change the amount of liquid that there is. The point, in my opinion, is utterly mute. Life -in all of its random glory- is not meant to be mulled over in such an inane fashion. It is meant to be lived; to be enjoyed.

If a tree falls in the forest and no one is there to hear it, does it make a sound? If no one is there and the tree is already on the ground…who cares at that point? Does the absence of sound without ears in some way mean something that will greatly impact your life? How can something that is impossible, by nature, to prove matter in any way, shape, or form to me and my existence? It cannot; not one iota. The whole conversation (while I smile a hollow smile and nod appropriately) just makes me want to smash you in the face with my wine glass and walk out of the room smugly. Image

Get over it. Use your over stressed brain in a more practical matter, already. If I hear, “I think, therefore I am” one more time from someone with a cat-like, self satisfied air about them…my head might explode. You “are” because you just “are”. There is no reason to think past that. Any other thought into it is a waste of personal -and limited- time that we do have to enjoy this life. Spending that time pondering what will happen after it is a travesty. What if this -right here, right now- is all we get and we squandered it worrying about a time that may never come? How silly would that be?

The great, unsolved mysteries of the universe are such for a reason. They simply do not matter in this lifetime. So, instead of pondering the intricacies of perception, I choose to drink the wine. Instead of finding a reason to question my existence, I make the choice to live it like it is the last gift that I will receive. Instead of being someone that makes things entirely more complicated than they ever should be, I take in the simplest things in life and find the beauty in it. That is all the examining that I feel inclined to partake of.

But hey, that is just me. A complex person with simple ideals. Eat, drink, love, and live every day like it is your last. Let that tree be the last thing that you have to worry about. That tree certainly is not sitting around the forest worrying about you, now is it?

Image

Nope, I am too busy living my life, tree.

Photo Credit:

tumblr.memecenter.com

www.cs.utah.edu

shanecrombie.com

Musings

Amber Perea View All →

I'm just living minute to minute, hour to hour, day to day.

13 Comments Leave a comment

  1. Love this post and your perspective, I think it’s beautiful that we have all types on this earth so we can eat, drink, be merry, and accomplish amazing scientific advancements everyday to living life even better πŸ™‚

  2. This post made me use my brain at too late of an hour for me (It’s 9:12 pm). While I disagree a little (OK, a lot) about the who cares what happens after this part, I still think it is important to try and live every day to the fullest! For sure.

    • Lol I knew you would say that. πŸ™‚

      I just have an opinion that there are so many types of religion…so many ideals of what is right. And everyone thinks that they are the ones that are. But the truth is…no one does because you don’t live to tell about the afterlife. πŸ™‚

      I consider myself to be an open minded secular humanist. But not one that puts too much thought into the afterlife. I will see for myself when I get there.

      But if I had an option of what I would want it to be…It would be like the movie What Dreams May Come. I love that version. πŸ™‚

      • Oh! That IS a good version. It’s true, that none of us really know, but my faith gives me so much comfort everyday,and honestly, I don’t know where I would be without it! Lost and confused, I guess. But, I understand not everyone is like that. πŸ™‚

      • That’s funny. I often say I would probably be happier with “faith” -and my parents tried- but even as a young girl I never could quite latch on. Just further proof of my left brained nature. πŸ™‚

  3. Actually, I LOVE the title of this one. I’ve been pondering that question for quite some time as I listen to the religious of today bash the religious of yesterday for bashing anyone or anything. God help us.

Leave a Reply

