Tales of an attention whore…

sea-web-contentWhile I fear for the Google searches that will bring people to my blog now from using the word “whore” in the title…I have no choice but to own the term with pride. What else can you call a woman in her thirties with electric blue hair and tattoos? The word “understated” does not necessarily come to mind, now does it?

To me, it is just my personal idea of beauty. I look in the mirror and see “pretty”. It makes my outside reflect the way that I feel on the inside. Different, interesting, and willing to take a chance and stand out no matter what others think of me.

That is not to say that is the way that it is perceived by everyone that encounters me. I receive some incredibly mixed responses from the people that I meet. Ranging from semi-rude to downright hilarious.

These are just a few of my favorite moments:

I can be your hero, baby:

Scene: The grocery store

A girl of about 14 or 15 comes running up to me. “I just LOVE your hair! It is SO(ooooo) cool! How did you do it? Did it cost a lot?”, she gushes. I thanked her and since she genuinely seemed interested, I told her that it was actually pretty easy but I did have to bleach it to get that bright of a shade and that they sold the dye here at the store and it only set me back about ten dollars for the dye and ten more for supplies.

Then I looked up.

Her mother was just within earshot, probably about my age, was now looking at me with the eyes of a demon hellbent on destruction. The stare was so intense that it actually startled me and I took a step back. All the was missing was her miming a slit throat in my direction. I stammered something about “having all of the time in the world to dye your hair” and ran away.

Poor teenage girl, she had no idea what hit her. Luckily though, the mom didn’t hit me, either.

serial-mom

The repressed grandma:

I was at a craft store purchasing glue sticks. At the register, I noticed that the elderly clerk was staring at my hair with what I assumed to be disdain based solely on her age. Then, a dreamy smile came across her face, and she told me that she had always wanted to do something “fun and out of the box” like that but never was able in “her time”. I thanked her and told her there was no time like the present. She replied, “Well, I think it would clash with my wrinkles!”

I could not help but smile. And be grateful that I live in a time that it is not a cardinal sin to be different.

On the plus side…she always wanted have blue hair…and now she IS a blue hair!

blue hair

You know I can hear you, right?:

Little boy and mother (right) behind me in line.

Little boy: Mommy, is her hair blue?

Mommy: Yes it is, dear.

Little boy: How comes she has blue hair when none of my friends at school do?

Mommy: Because she made it that color. No one really has blue hair.

Little boy: But why would she do that?

Mommy: Because some people are just weird like that.

how_rudeThis does not even account for the stares, the pointing, the random eye rolling, and the people openly gawking. Not every experience is positive -unless you count pre-teen girls- but I have to say…it is rare that each one doesn’t make for an interesting story. And isn’t that what life is all about? πŸ˜‰

Photo Credit:

expresswriterteam.wordpress.com

www.jonathanrosenbaum.com

thepetfanclub.blogspot.com

rdhorrorproject.blogspot.com

Musings

Amber Perea View All →

I'm just living minute to minute, hour to hour, day to day.

15 Comments Leave a comment

  1. It’s going to be great when the “millenial” generation is really old and gray because they’ll be covered with tattoos and probably still rocking different hair colors and no one will give a rip (not that TOO many people seem to now).

    • That’s funny! My husband has several, I have several..I couldn’t imagine not getting more or being with someone that couldn’t appreciate them! πŸ™‚

      In fact, an ex asked me if I planned on getting more yeArs ago (I only had two then) and the day that we broke up I got the mandarin symbol for “independent” on the back of my neck. πŸ˜‰

  2. My last purple experience a friends husband asked me “did you mean to go that color?”. When my youngest was small she came to the hair salon and when they put in the hair dye she came up and whispered in my ear, “Mom that lady did paint your hair pink”,
    I never mind really, it’s better than grey and it gives us a spark of individuality! Go you.

  3. Haha! People are so judgmental. But I loved the spunky granny, now is an attitude worth having. In India, it is both cultural and traditional to have tattoos so we have a lot of really culturally and religiously orthodox people sporting tattoos. So when I see people elsewhere react weirdly to tattoos, I always throw the culture card at them and then it’s so funny watching them try to be politically correct. I let the, squirm, it’s fun! I’ve always wanted blue hair but I doubt if it would look good on my complexion.

  4. I love dying my hair odd colors. Light blue, violet, maroon, berry red, etc. I even had dreds once (plus a shaved head when I was ready to be rid of them). The only reason I stopped dying is that it fades quickly and doesn’t take well because of the prednisone. Go you! What shade of blue is it?

    • Electric blue. The magic shade you think of when you decide to have blue at all! The whole underside. So I pin up the sides and it’s really cool.

      I was always a girl that had every variation. But since we made a decision to not send Jp to any program (which means I don’t work, of course) until he’s ready or I can get him into the one at our elementary….I had some time to play. So I did. Why not, right? πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

