Tell the truth…does this blog make me look fat?

Yesterday, I wrote a post about how the Freshly Pressed gods have never smiled down upon me. You know, a basic, “Why doesn’t anyone love me?”, whine-fest of self-pity. The outpouring of love and support was unreal. Just one response after another about how people love my blog, love the voice of it, and think that the way I write (albeit flawed and imperfectly) is fine just the way that it is.

And do you know what I felt like after the last comment was replied to (which took more time than I spend on an actual post, mind you)? I felt like that rail thin girl that stands in the mirror whining that she is “fat”.

We have all met that girl. And you know that I know that we all want to smack the crap out of her and tell her to either A) “Stop fishing for compliments. We all know that you are only doing this for attention!” or B) “Get some self-confidence you insecure mess of a woman!”

I promise that I wasn’t doing either. Or, at least, not consciously. Though, from the response, I have to say, I am truly glad that I let my guard down and wore my insecurities on my sleeve because I feel better about my little blog than I ever have…ever. I am unbelievably grateful for all of you that took the time to console me, empathize with me, or bash Freshly Pressed with me. Y’all rock my socks off, no lie.

Seriously, from the bottom of my heart, you guys are the S&!t. I cannot convey (you know, since I am a terrible writer *wink*) just how much it meant to me to read comment after comment of insanely wonderful compliments. If you could have seen me through the monitor…I was literally blushing (while I read them aloud to my husband beaming with pride).taylor-swift-gif

It means so much more to me to know that I have the best real followers in the world than to ever receive a single nod from some editor that I have never even met and may not appreciate the tone of my blog. Yesterday was like a blogging-Christmas-come-early and I truly do wish I could give you all a Texas-sized bear hug.

Okay, now I am going to stop gushing like a teenage girl in the presence of whatever boy band is hot these days and go back to being the crazy smartypants that you all (apparently) appreciate just the way that I am!

Musings

Amber Perea View All →

I'm just living minute to minute, hour to hour, day to day.

16 Comments Leave a comment

  1. I’ve whined myself at least 10 times in a blog post. πŸ™‚ I went through a big trial with a family member that caused all of that, and kept writing what seemed to me like the same blog post over and over and over again trying to get the feelings of insecurity OUT OF ME. It probably seemed like insecurity to a lot of my readers, too. Because it was. Anyway, my point is, I get it. I knew you weren’t fishing for compliments, but I like to give them anyway!

    • Insecurity is one of those emotions. The quicker you express it, the quicker everyone else puts it in perspective for you. πŸ™‚ I’m glad that I wrote it. πŸ™‚

      At least one person knew I wasn’t “fishing”. I felt kind of bad about it. Especially when people posted that they couldn’t get their follwers and comments up. Then I’m over here like, “Waah poor me, huh?”

      Lol πŸ™‚

      • Well being freshly pressed helped but it was fleeting. The thing I find that helps the most is networking. But you probably have more followers and better stats than me anyway. So don’t listen to me!! πŸ™‚

      • Lol I doubt that! But I think I do pretty well. Certainly better than I ever have. I suppose the only blog you can hold yours up against is your own.

        It did make me realize that I should grateful for the following that I have and not fuss over an award that I don’t. πŸ™‚

  2. Not being Freshly Pressed makes us the “cool kids” in school. You know, the ones that fly under the radar and go on to do some pretty unusual and amazing things. The “popular kids” rarely have interesting tales to tell at the reunion anyhow. πŸ™‚

    • Exactly! I don’t think I have ever had a need to “fit in” in my whole life. Why should this be any different?

      For goodness’ sake, I refused to listen to “popular music” in high school and now I am pining to be on Freshly Pressed? Who am I? πŸ™‚

  3. I understand. I’ve been feeling crappy about blogging lately and then promptly feeling like a sell-out for feeling poopy about it.
    (Still, I’d just die to get Freshly Pressed. I hate to admit it but it’s true.)

Leave a Reply

