The “Get Off My Lawn” Rant…About Concerts, No Less.

Okay, I know that I am not terribly old. Probably a few years off of elderly and there still isn’t any gray amidst my electric blue locks. No, I am certainly not a granny by any stretch of the mean. But I think that technology is aging us. It is moving along at such a rapid rate that it makes me feel old. It makes me feel like ranting about “back in my day”. You know the one. Classic, “Uphill to school both ways, barefoot, in the snow.” I know that it’s been said a million times before…but today I missed the ‘good ol’ days’ before the internet was king. I missed having to prove that you wanted something to actually get it.

What in the world am I talking about, you ask? I am talking about a concert. But not just any concert. THE concert.

It has been years since I have been able to go to a concert. Years, I tell you, years. But in my hay day I saw bands 5 and 6 times. But one, of the bestest of all bands that there is, I have seen a staggering 26 times live. Yes, you read that correctly. 26 glorious and amazing times. I followed them around like a lost puppy and worshiped them in a way that would have gotten me kicked out of Heaven.

Image

Tool. Maynard James Keenan and company. My absolute favorite band of all time. I have every album (most on vinyl as well), tons of merchandise, and literally know every song word for word.

The first time that I saw them I was 15 years old. My boyfriend and I sat all night in front of the music store in the freezing cold to get tickets. All night long like tiny bundled up homeless people. Why? Because we were fans. Real fans willing to brave the elements to prove our devotion and be the closest to the door when it opened in the morning. And since we were second in line we knew that we were getting tickets. Because we freaking earned them, dammit. We payed for them with babysitting money with blue, frostbitten fingers.

Which leads me to my old lady rant today. My favorite band is finally touring again and tickets went on sale today bright and early at ten.

I have been wide awake since six this morning. No joke, just lying there and imagining what the show would be like. Like a little kid who couldn’t wait for Christmas. They don’t tour often anymore and I knew I was going to have to have luck and skill on my side to get the tickets. And I needed the tickets.

At ten -sharp- I had 5 windows open and the phone calling. It sold out in three minutes flat. No tickets for me.

And, I have to admit, I am pretty heartbroken. I am heartbroken that 90% of the tickets sold weren’t bought by other like-minded fans of the music, glory, and showmanship that is Tool….they were bought and then immediately went up on other sites for double the price.

See, back in the day scalpers were scary people hanging off to the side of the arena. Now, they get online and buy all of the tickets that they can at the rate set by the band and then sell them on resale sites for hundreds of dollars over the face value. So, here I am -huge super mega fan- with no tickets and they are all online marked up 100-500%. That’s close to 400 dollars for two pretty terrible seats! Which double what I saved up.

GET. OFF. MY. LAWN.

I miss the days when you had to prove you truly were a fan before you got a ticket. Not just some jerk sitting in your comfortable home behind a computer and hogging up all of the seats just to make the real fans sell a kidney for them.

While mostly I am a huge advocate of the technological age and all that it entails…today I just want another chance to camp out in the rain for tickets again and know that the love of the band will get them over a faster computer.

Oh yeah, and Happy Valentines Day. 😦

Uncategorized

Amber Perea View All →

I'm just living minute to minute, hour to hour, day to day.

8 Comments Leave a comment

  1. I cant imagine your frustration, but you tell this so well. I was routing that somehow you pulled one out and had to decide if you went alone or not…no question what the answer would be in THAT scenario…lol. You are so right, there should be a limit to what each payer can take for tickets to discourage this kind of asinine behavior.

  2. I’m not sure if you will have a ton of luck with Tool tickets on cashortrade.org but it’s worth a shot. They also have a FB page and a twitter account. On those pages you can shout out what you are looking for and anyone with extras will reply.

    • Yep, and I’d make more money, too. No joke…one guy on Craigslist had 6 floor seats for 250 a piece. The tickets were 87. That’s a grand in pure profit for just sitting on the computer. I’m in. 😉

Leave a Reply

